We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“send in the hotel inspector” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Simon the Pieman

Simon the Pieman
3 Lion Street, Rye TN31 7LB, England
01797 222207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 68 Restaurants in Rye
Cuisines: Tea Room
Description: Pies and more pies!!
Restaurant details
Description: Pies and more pies!!
Warminster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“send in the hotel inspector”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

after being to fletchers next door and having an outstanding cream tea I was convinced this would be as good as there (fletchers was closed for holiday) cream tea consisted of over microwaved small scones ..... warm butter packs and catering grade jam and cream ..... no effort or attention to detail at all ...... the menus are just laminated bits of paper and are well past there best and serviettes are held in a plastic beaker......such a shame as it is a beautiful property.......go else where ...seriously

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    19
    19
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by it's cover”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

tWe wene in as the cakes in the window looked gorgeous. Having ordered our apple slice and bakewell tart, they were cut and transported to the microwave to be heated. Why? Presumably to pep them up as not fresh. Very dissapointing and at £4-£5 per piece, quite frankly a rip off.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,UK
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Has got worse....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have reviewed this tearoom before, so I really should have known better I suppose, but we had overseas visitors with us and we needed refreshment after climbing to the top of the church tower. We stood around in the shop area being completely ignored by the staff, and were on the verge of leaving when a harrassed lady came to attend to our order. The cornish pasties were slimy and tasteless, the treacle tart had too much breadcrumb and not enough lemon, so again this was a poor example of what a good British sweet should be. The caramel shortbread was actually quite nice, but this is the last time we shall be spending money there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for a quick break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

After all that walking around the town, you will enjoy a rest, friendly service and a great menu. The atmosphere inside is clean and comforting.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pies!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Only one pork pie and no other pies to purchase so we were disappointed with the lack of choice seeing as it was called Simon the Pieman!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon the Pieman also viewed

 

Been to Simon the Pieman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simon the Pieman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.