We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Inn

The Standard Inn
33 The Mint, Rye TN31 7EN, England
+44 (0) 1797 225996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 65 restaurants in Rye
Price range: $9 - $25
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Traditional pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Had a very nice burger and chips. Staff were very friendly. Good atmosphere - nice and busy. Down to earth venue for an evening out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    25
    21
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gwent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Went here for Sunday lunch mid October 2012, was really nice, lovely food and a good atmosphere created by very nice staff. Would definitely go back

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lucky Rye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had lunch here on 16 October, great value, laid back atmosphere, super landlord, I wish it was my local!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Busy pub, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lovely food. Pub was busy but a seperate dining area. Excellent value at £12.50 for 2 courses with generous portions. Had a good sized oval table that accomodated 8 of us companiably.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Very warm welcome. Good selection of beers and ciders. Fresh food cooked well. Catered for my wife's allergies ok. If she's happy so am I. Good prices on food. Food is fresh, locally sourced, home cooked. Good sized portions. I had a burger for lunch which was so good I went back for dinner in the evening. I had Guiness and beef pie. There was loads of meat in the pie and it tasted great.
Staff very relaxed with personality. If I lived in Rye this would be my local

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Standard Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Standard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.