We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glencoe Farm

Glencoe Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencoe Farm
West Undercliff, Rye TN31 7DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Rye B&B and Inns
Broadstairs
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Arrived early to meet Carol our Host who said that our room was ready. She gave us directions into Rye which is about a five minute walk away. The room was very pleasant overlooking the duck pond. Breakfast is taken in the spotless conservatory overlooking the garden and pond. Bert served breakfast which was very tasty and well cooked. Overall a very clean and relaxing place to stay. we have just recommended it to our friends. Good to be able to leave your car here and walk into Rye as parking can be difficult.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed three nights at this delightful bed and breakfast on the edge of the attractive town of Rye in Sussex. Our hosts were very welcoming and the breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. A special bonus was the chance to watch the ducks, hens, sheep and birds in the pond outside the window while eating breakfast. The accommodation is organised in a separate annexe, giving you lots of space and privacy. It is only a short walk into the town where there are lots of places to eat in the evening. We strongly recommend this bed and breakfast for as short break to explore the south coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Brington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Room was cold, duvet musty smelling. Towels from previous day still damp. Ground floor room overlooked hardstanding car park.

The idea of "sitting out" was a non starter. Old metal garden furniture looked like it had been out for 20 years. Most of paint chipped off, green and manky. One area was in front of dried up pond with bucket half submerged in dried mud, other area under hanging tree, with chickens scratching around. Have been to farms before so know what the nice ones are like and love having animals around, but this was not nice.
Breakfast served in conservatory with dead bugs especially one large spider corpse hanging from ceiling. Plastic tablecloth and tiny glasses of orange juice put out early, would have been small to use for wine glasses. All in all not a nice experience. Also tv rarely worked, probably because kettle was right underneath!
Awful experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Had the little wooden house to ourselves which was fantastic with the view of the meadows and animals.Clean rooms and restful evening and night before exploring Rye.
Good breakfast and very approachable owner Carol.
Would come again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, MA, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My elderly mother and I chose Glencoe Farm because of its perfect location, never imagining that it would provide the other pleasures that it offered freely.
Tucked away at the end of a quiet little lane, Glencoe Farm is indeed a five minute walk from the ancient town of Rye. Although we had a rental car, we didn't use it once in the five days we stayed with Carol and Bert Benn. Instead, we explored the town, visiting the Henry James House, climbing the bell tower of St. Mary's, treating ourselves to the best cream tea in England (at Cobbles tea shop whose proprietress happens to be Carol and Bert's daughter!), and climbing the steep, cobbled Mermaid Street to admire the lovely old Tudor houses and the abundance of flowers. But Glencoe Farm is also perfectly situated for several of the loveliest walks. Just at the other end of the lane, there's a lovely country walk that takes you from Rye to Winchelsea (and probably further) along sheep pastures, cow fields and lovely homes tucked away at the top of the hill overlooking the low pasture land. Another lovely walk took us around the entire town of Rye and up to Playden.
Carol and Bert's hospitality was warm and welcoming. We stayed first in one of their comfortably appointed double rooms and then in the guest cottage where we had our own sitting room and little kitchen. The windows opened out onto the Benn's garden on one side and onto their fenced meadow on the other where Curly (their daughter's magnificent horse) greeted us every day in case we happened to have an apple.
With six sheep in the field across from the parking area, a horse and a miniature Shetland pony in the field behind, a flock of chickens (for the freshest eggs in town), two friendly and curious ducks and a pair of equally friendly cats, the Benns have the sort of farm that would appeal to any animal lover or any family with small children. The animals are there if you'd like to pet them but unobtrusive if you would not.
Carol's delicious breakfasts featured fresh eggs, ham, sausage, tomatoes, mushrooms and great slices of crisp homemade toast.
We couldn't have chosen a lovelier or more comfortable place to stay. The Benns have thought of everything to make their guests feel at home and are a source of helpful information and advice for travelers new to the region.
I look forward to returning to Rye and to Glencoe Farm the next time I'm in England.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Wakering
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here in July last year (could only go as far back as September) I really thought I had reviewed this before but realise if I did it didn't update on here.

It was such a lovely little place, you have your own little apartment which consists of kitchen.diner, bedroom, bathroom and lounge/bedroom. We loved it here and our hosts Carol and Bert couldn't do enough for you, totally recommend it for families, I was six months pregnant at the time and totally appreciated the privacy of staying on our own but still being looked after, our little girl loved looking at the horses out of her bedroom window.

It was both comfortable and extremely good value for money and we definately want to go back!

We were a five minute walk into Rye and a short drive from Camber Sands. It was perfect weather whilst here and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

Very quiet but easy walk into Rye. Very welcoming host. Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glencoe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencoe Farm

Address: West Undercliff, Rye TN31 7DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Rye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glencoe Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glencoe Farm to your Saves list