We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pelham House Hotel - delightfully "shabby chic" Georgian House Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelham House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pelham House to your Saves list
Pelham House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Andrews Lane, Lewes BN7 1UW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lewes
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pelham House Hotel - delightfully "shabby chic" Georgian House Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We loved our one night stay at Pelham House in June 2014. We were visiting the UK for a wedding so our Internet Booking was confirmed months in advance and this was a first visit based on WEB based details, photos and reviews.
The hotel is beautiful and the gardens, overlooking the South Downs, were a delight for alfresco dining. Most fortunately the weather was warm and sunny for our visit. Our bedroom, in the main building, was very large and well appointed with a large modern well fitted bathroom in the immediately linked /adjoining wing. All spotlessly clean. The restaurant food was delicious as was the alfresco breakfast. The staff, although very busy for most of the evening, were warm, friendly and very helpful. Likewise on checkout
What a gem of a find. We will definitely use Pelham House for future visits to Lewes.

Room Tip: Main Building, south facing double bedroom. Book well in advance to ensure you get a room in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    130
    73
    41
    15
See reviews for
53
227
19
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Lewes is a lovely town to wander around and Pelham House hotel is central and easy to reach, just a few paces down a small steep hill off the high street. Afternoon tea served in the pleasant garden by equally pleasant staff should have been a treat. As afternoon tea in a hotel goes it's not very expensive but sadly not good value. Tea bag tea is served in heavy little pots with matching heavy weight cups. No pretty chintz here! No fresh tea or hot water was offered. The sandwiches were ok but minimalist and on the edge of drying up. The scones,one each, had been microwaved and then cooled to a biscuit consistency. The requested replacements were soft as they were straight from the microwave and hot, melting the generous portion of cream.
The cakes were fine! I agree with a previous comment that there must be better afternoon teas in Lewes but full marks for location and staff. Beware, only pre booked parking is available.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We loved our stay at Pelham House. The staff were friendly, helpful and kind throughout. The room was decorated beautifully, and the bathroom was exquisite. That bath was the best I've ever had - so relaxing - and the bed was really comfy allowing a really good night's sleep.
We had the roast dinner on the Sunday night. We are very picky about roast dinner, and I have to say this one was one of the best we've ever had. Great cuts of meat, good range of perfectly cooked veggies, and the roast potatoes are cooked in duck's fat which made them absolutely delicious. The cooked breakfast was also delicious - the chef's must really take pride in what they do, and nothing feels 'thrown together'.
The setting of the hotel is beautiful and we enjoyed the calm atmosphere outside, with a great view looking over Lewes.
Our whole experience at Pelham House went far beyond our expectations - thank you to everyone at the hotel who helped to make it feel really special. We would love to come back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a really lovely hotel, one of the best I have ever stayed in. The staff really put themselves out when my partner and I arrived early and we received complimentary afternoon tea, which I was very surprised at. The room was excellent value for money, the beds very comfortable and the atmosphere peaceful. The hotel gardens are also lovely to sit in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at Pelham House on Saturday as we were going to Glyndebourne. As the last reviewer said, £250 (for us) for B&B isn't cheap. The hotel itself is very pretty and definitely shabby chic. All parking spaces were full and they had no disabled space for me so my friend had to park down a steep hill under a tree (where the birds had a field day!)

We were in Room 5, which overlooks the gardens and has a very pretty view. It was a decent size room but, since so many of your guests are off to Glyndebourne or here for a wedding, why do you not have a full length mirror? You could easily put a mirror on the inside of each of the wardrobe doors - happy guests. It was also very hot and quite hard to clamber over the radiator to get to the window. The beds were hard but OK and the shower was also OK but not very well thought out.

I have to reiterate what the last reviewer said here:
Breakfast was fine and served outside which was nice. It did arrive suspiciously quickly whilst we were still eating our fruit. The gardens are lovely.

All in all, it was OK but not great value for money but I would return now I know about the parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at Pelham House. We were attending a wedding reception nearby. £180 for B&B isn't cheap (I declined an upgraded room), but we wanted to stay somewhere nice. The hotel itself is very pleasant, slightly shabby chic, I guess. As others discovered, there was nowhere to park despite my being disabled.

My gripe is with the room itself, number 8. Ok, it overlooks the gardens so has a nice view. It is, in fact, half a room, a fact easily spotted when lying in bed observing the shape of the ceiling. The carpets are stained and grubby but no matter because someone went to a car boot sale and found a disgusting old rug to put down. The bed is shoehorned in, leaving a bare minimum space for the occupant that side to get in and out. A small wardrobe but no drawers or indeed surfaces to place one's belongings or clothes. The tv looked mighty like the portable I took to college in 1984, and the kettle had to be moved to be plugged in. All equipment tired and old.

The bed was comfy and the shower room fine, though tiny. Again, nowhere to place my wash bag.

I was woken at 8am Sunday morning by the staff using some machine to clean the terrace below. Later, please after most have had late nights. The room was also very hot.

Breakfast was fine and served outside which was nice. It did arrive suspiciously quickly whilst we were still eating our fruit. The gardens are lovely.

So, a nice hotel in many ways but I would not go back. Our room was frankly shoddy. Farrow and Ball paint and a couple of modernish lampshades are not sufficient to cover up the shortcomings.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

So very disappointing.We arrived on time to have to walk through a wedding party waiting for the bride. At reception we were told to walk back through to go and ask at the bar. At the bar the poor girl had only just started working at the hotel and asked us to wait. We were finally shown through to the restaurant already laid up for dinner, as it was a beautiful afternoon we asked to be seated outside. Outside we were limited on where we could sit but even though it was sunny no umbrellas were put up to provide shade. A menu was provided but as my husband had actually booked for afternoon tea we were a little surprised. We ordered the afternoon tea but had to send back one of the cups as it was dirty. Afternoon tea for two and a bottle of sparkling wine consists of 3 quarter sandwiches, a slice and a half of bread in total, four little scones and cream, we had to ask for the jam, three little bits of cake each and a little pot of tea each. The champagne glasses were cloudy after too many trips to the dishwasher. The service was poor, we were served the tea and bubbles but had to wait 50 minutes for the food. Very expensive for not very good, I cannot even say the sandwiches and cakes were good, they were all a bit dried out. Unlikely to go back and would suggest that there are better places in Lewes to go for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House

Address: St Andrews Lane, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelham house offers 31 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.