We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flower power” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room

Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room
85 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XN, England
4401273 480 822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 87 Restaurants in Lewes
Price range: $8 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A traditional licensed English Tea Room near Lewes Castle set within our fragrant florist boutique, offering elegant setting, friendly service, a dozen varieties of loose leaf tea, Fairtrade Organic coffee, wide variety home baked cakes and fantastic (customers tell us!)scones, and Sussex made ice cream. 32 covers and a private hire room with views. Open 7 days, daytime only.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Flower power”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Came across this lovely tea shop by accident as its next to a secondhand bookshop we've been frequenting for years. Popped in for lunch on Saturday and shared a wonderful cheese platter supplemented by some gorgeous fresh brown bread (which beat the stuff we'd had at Bills for breakfast earlier the same day). The whole ambience is relaxing with the lovely smell of fresh flowers in the air too! We'll definitely be back - not least as its real leaf tea!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great service, a lovely cafe with a range of afternoon tea options (including a savoury tea) and sandwiches. Hope to return soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a treat this place is! Lovely home made food, great range of teas and very welcoming, friendly staff. Only had time for cakes (a real hardship :) ) but other food looked good too. Really nice not to be rushed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss if your visiting lewes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a cream tea on a living social voucher. Everything was just perfect from the helpful and friendly manager and staff to the way the place is decorated and the food is lovely fresh and homemade. It really is a lovely place to come and treat yourself or friends and family. The scones were home made, warm and delicious and we loved all the little extra touches like having an egg timer to know when our tea had brewed! I had recently been to an afternoon cream tea at the Waldorf and I can honestly say that this wasn't too far behind it . I ll be bringing my friend back in for the afternoon tea to compare it properly though lol! Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tea time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I went to meet a friend who suggested this place. Florists one side, cafe the other. We decided just to have a drink but looking through the menu, it appears to be perfect for afternoon tea. I will certainly take visiting friends there for an experience. The service was attentive without being overbearing and I will definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafordchrislou, Owner at Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, the team and I are pleased that you enjoyed our regional tea room with a floral twist.
We seem to have greatly increased our lunchtime trading in recent weeks(which we are thrilled about!) causing a few more delays than usual, so in the light of this I have since August 1 boosted our waiting team so that we can continue to offer the best service possible within the confines of our unique and shared space! Thanks for your valued custom and feedback! Enjoy the rest of the summer, come back for a scone or bakewell tart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room also viewed

Lewes, East Sussex
 
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewesiana Florist & Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.