We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelleys

Save Saved
You added The Shelleys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Shelleys
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lewes
Angmering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wedding Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel with family and friends for our daughters wedding, front of house manager was excellent and nothing was too much trouble, rooms are very elegant, the only problem was the breakfast which was very slow in appearing and two of the waitresses were a bit rude .

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We greatly appreciate your visiting from France and many thanks for the warmth of your review. Your thoughts regarding the breakfast are also welcomed as we are currently looking at offering an express option

We were delighted the wedding was so successful and hopefully we can see you back in Lewes before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    58
    29
    12
    6
See reviews for
24
112
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and my girlfriend had such a wonderful time at the shelley! our room was spotless and the shower was really powerful it was excellent! The young blonde girl in the restaurant (she did tell us her name but its slipped my mind!) was exceptionally polite and attended to everything we needed in such a brilliant manner. The only down side was that the hotel and restaurant was very quiet, it would have been nice to see some more life in there! I would recommend this hotel if you want luxury and a home from home stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It was a delightful welcoming you from Bristol and thanks for such kind remarks which mean a great deal to both the Shelleys and her staff. We are working hard to spread the word and with the support of brilliant customers like you, we should be bursting at the seams before too long

Hopefully we can see you back in Lewes in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Quiet and totally charming
Warmest welcome from any reception anywhere!
Rooms fresh clean elegant comfort. Great beds
Garden a haven of tranquility
Tea tray with biscuits a rare treat nowadays.
Plenty of parking.
Centre of Lewes. So exceptional shops one way and walks the other v
Good breakfast - tea scummy and unpleasant but all else made up for it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
A fantastic review, thank you so much. Hopefully we can welcome you back from Hertfordshire before too long. The staff are tickled pink with the kindness of your remarks which we consider to be also near perfect

With renewed thanks and for your delightful custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, Hants, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Bought a voucher for a stay and a meal for two for two nights from Travelzoo last November for my husbands birthday to stay at Shellleys before the end of March. Due to illness we were unable to take up the offer until last week. the oweners couldn;t have been more helpful and understanding and allowed the offer to be extended to end of April.

We had a superior double room No 7 which didn't have any views only scaffolding as the building is having renovation work done, but the decor and furnishings were excellent. Very spcaious room with two lovely leather chairs to sit and watch the large TV. Made a great change from having to sit onthe bed as is usual with modern hotels. complimentary tea and coffee and bottled water together with an ice bucket to ask for ice as and when needed.

Breaksfasts were excellent with a good choice for full english and well as continental which included a plate of gammon and cheeses in the continental and the cooked breakfast poached haddock and eggs and smoked salmon and scrambled eggs as well as the normal bacon and eggs. Waitress service with a very pleasant young lady who remembered are room number from previous day and that my huisband liked Earl Grey tea and I liked coffee with a small jug of cream!

Evening meal onthe first night was very good, a bit lacking in atmosphere as a wake had been happening early and the music inthe evening seemed to represent the previous function and there were only 5 tables veing used, which waqs a shame as the quality of the cooking from the chef was excellent. The second night we had a bar meal as we didn't wish to be almost alone in the restaurant again, which was also excellent.

I think Shelleys should invite the locals to come and view the premises and then perhaps get their email addresses and have some theme nights for the locals on their quiet evenings during the week. The quality of the food is excellent and we would be prepared to come and stay again for a themed break/special offer if they introduced this method of marketing when they hadn;t got functions to do.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs as the air conditioning is on all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you so much for such a detailed and positive review which I am sure will assist other travellers. We can't wait to see you back at Shelleys and meanwhile the staff including Chef Chris are delighted with your kind remarks

We really appreciate your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Fab place with comfort their priority.Bedroom 19 tip top. Little touches all there to make u feel pampered. Only drawback was slowness of service @ bfast. The meal was superb & of a high standard, esp the porridge, but needs to be quicker yet same quality. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We love this review and the play on words - thank you so much

Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon, more so with the weather now firmly on the mend

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two days over the Easter break. Our room (number 2 I think) was spacious and well decorated with wonderful old fashioned furniture that suited the room. The hotel is an old building and you must accept that when you book - it is not a travel lodge - but the welcome and service was warm and welcoming. I loved its character. Some of the comments say that the building needs a bit of TLC but frankly that is only around the margins and adds to the charm. The breakfast was excellent, especially the cooked. And such a change to be served rather than a help yourself buffet. As we were visiting friends we ate out and didn't sample the evening meals. I would have no hesitation about staying there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Many thanks for both your custom and such a great review. It sounds like you may have fallen in love with The Shelleys as we have all done

Hopefully we can welcome you back before very long and next time tempt you to dinner in The Apostrophe restaurant

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed in a superior room, with my husband and 4 year-old.
Pros: The room and bathroom were spacious and, although faded, spotless. Its on the high street, so an easy stroll to the station, castle etc. Staff at reception were polite and helpful. Also, amazing water pressure, especially considering the age of the place. Interesting history and a good turnover service.

The downsides were
(1) the view (the room overlooked a ?staff door and walkway, so I felt I had to keep the curtains drawn; see photo)
(2)Got so tired of waiting for the grumpy waiter to bring my toast at breakfast (still waiting after I finished the rest of my meal) that I just left, as I needed to check out.
(3) King bed was two singles joined together, with noisy headboards
(4)Personally I found it was lacking a bit of soul, which is strange considering its age and history (although I understand it has previously been under corporate ownership?)
(5) Decided not to get a fold-up bed for my daughter as £20 extra a night seemed a bit steep

Unlike a previous reviewer, I had no problem with the heating (fully adjustable on the radiators), or children's cereal (my daughter had Rice Crispies one day and lovely homemade bircher the next).

Better than your average medium-sized hotel (which I normally avoid).
Undecided about Lewes itself (a bit smug?), but Brightons only a short bus-ride away if it gets too much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Many thanks for such a detailed and considered review. Overall we were pleased that you found such good things to say about The Shelleys. Equally there were some areas where you felt we could fine tune. The hotel is of course purring with delight over your kind remarks about her water pressure

Hopefully we will be able to see you again before too long and thanks again for your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelleys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.