We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic old school Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shelleys

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelleys to your Saves list
The Shelleys
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic old school Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

The moment you walk in the door you know that you are in for a fabulous stay. Beautiful old school charm, delightful service and a great ambience. The room we stayed in was an absolute delight. Fantasic wood panneled walls made you feel as if you had stepped back two generations to an old country manor however if the room was charming the bathroom was exquisite. Cannot recommend the place more highly. A delight to stay there and clearly under superb management.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    73
    41
    20
    11
See reviews for
28
146
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

Two of us stayed yesterday on Bonfire night in Room 20. We liked the room we were staying in, but it was mentioned by one of the staff that ' not many people like that room, although she did herself ' a trifle off putting, especially as we were paying around 170.00 for the privilege of one night in it. We did wonder what we were missing out on in one of the other roooms!

We arrived a tad early before check in so we could drop off a bag. There was no one in sight at reception and no bell to summon anyone; we had to go searching for someone to help us and got the feeling we were a bit of a nuisance, despite other people also arriving for service at that same time we did.

The beautiful lounge that we were looking forward to relaxing in before the bonfire celebrations was more or less set up for a private dinner soon after we checked in- so we couldn't use it after being directed there by reception! I'm not sure why the room couldn't have been set up later in the day (it was only one table after all) so that the many guests here for Bonfire night could enjoy the facilities in the afternoon before setting off later in the day for a long evening of bonfire celebrations. We had to make do with the bar which was comfortable enough but not as quiet as the lounge as it was open to non residents and got quite busy as the afternon progressed; so much so that we decided to go back to our room. There was also DIY going on in the back of the bar with quite a bit of hammering.

We got back after midnight having been out in Lewes town centre for over 6 hours; many got back later than us! We thought it would have been a nice touch for some small nibbles to be made available for those wanting a late night snack- some hot chocolate and mulled wine perhaps, and some nuts and nibbles etc. There is fruit and and some biscuits are in the room along with tea and coffee making facilties, but after a night like that, it would be nice to be a bit spoilt!

We asked for, but did not get a wake up call- luckily I woke up so we didnt miss breakfast.

Breakfast was very nice, but no vegetarian sausage or indeed vegatarian replacement for either the bacon or black pudding, so hers was quite a deal less hearty than my own. Once you have finished your cooked breakfast these plates are not removed while you are at the table, so you feel a bit hemmed in by crockery, trying to eat your toast and preserves from a small plate to the side, as you can't move it in front of you.

The breakfast room is beautiful with lovely views of the garden if you get a table at the window. However, the lovely chandeliers were not alight due to a power failure in there, despite the rest of the hotel having light on and so some guests were sitting at the back of the room in quite dark conditions.

The coffee is served in very nice cafetieres but although we had coffee served on three different occassions, it always tasted rather insipid and lukewarm.

It was not made clear that the paper we ordered would be charged to the room.

There was no turndown service which would hvae been a nice touch, but someone knocked on the door at about 5.00 and offered us ice, which I thought a bit strange as we did not have a mini bar - at least we weren't shown one?

It's all in the detail- when you are paying about 170.00 for a room for one night I feel that the small touches were definitely missing along and that we got what I would call 'distracted' service.

  • Liked — Lovely public rooms, especially the lounge and the breakfats room.
  • Disliked — Service was hit and mss
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

Cute as a button! Lovely friendly owner (manager?), very English! Staff great and lots of nice things like homemade jam on home made scones. Great three course dinner, the chef certainly knows how to cook and not overpriced either. Brekky was fab too, especially the fruit salad with Greek yoghurt. Lovely rooms and very nice bathrooms with snuggly bathrobes and expensive toiletries. All the sitting rooms were just like being at home only tons better. Nice short break for me and hubby. Would be nice if they did treatments too, or am I being a spoilt brat?

  • Liked — Friendliness, atmosphere, food
  • Disliked — it was all great
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2007

I stayed at Shelley's on my own for a few nights while at a conference, then joined by my husband for another few for a weekend break, and to see our daughter who lives in Brighton. I wanted to stay somewhere that I would feel comfortable on my own, and certainly did here. I much preferred staying in Lewes to Brighton, and there is a good train link to both the universities and Brighton from Lewes, the station about a 10 minute walk from the hotel [longer maybe on the way back, when it's uphill]. There is also a carpark at the hotel [albeit quite small] which can be a problem both in Brighton and some Lewes hotels. The hotel itself is very welcoming and peaceful - even on the Friday when there was a wedding we were not disturbed at all. We had a charming room overlooking the garden, with nice, large, bathroom. The food is excellent, with a reasonable selection, and good wine list. The staff are particularly welcoming and helpful, and the service overall very good. I would stay here again if in the area, and certainly recommend it.

  • Liked — everything really
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

Elegant hotel with tasteful decoration, comfortable rooms, good bathrooms, everything very clean . Dinner was excellent with interesting food, good wine, lovely views, delightful ambience and pleasant service. A hands-on manager/owner? makes conversation ( but is not intrusive), waits at table occasionally at breakfast-checks all is well.Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

I can really only reiterate previous reviews. The hotel has been renovated expertly and thoroughly on the inside; just a little to do on the outside such as window frames. We booked a superior room (12) - spacious and charmingly furnished and quiet. Nice bathroom with a good shower over the bath, having excellent water pressure and easy to adjust temperature. All staff pleasant, attentive and happy to engage in conversation (including the owner).

The food was haute cuisine which I have ambivalent feelings about, especially on the veg. front. However, it was beautifully cooked and provided you have a filling starter such as the goats cheese tart you shouldn't have to rely on bread rolls to fill up. Wonderful puds to finish. An amuse-bouche starts the eating experience - asparagus soup on one evening. I was impressed with the imaginative and reasonably-priced wine list. Try a NZ Pinot Noir or an English white wine. The latter improves by the year - I prefer most of them to Sauvignon Blanc these days.

Overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience, but beware, they do not accept Amex.

  • Liked — Ambience, food and drink, staff. On site parking. Nice little garden.
  • Disliked — Nothing really.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Just stunning. Beautiful sympathetic decor, wonderful food although the restaurant can go from being very manic to rather quiet. The staff were attentive and polite.
The bedroom overlooked the gorgeous and well kept garden at the back, was so clean and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure good. Parking outside fine and location meant a pleasant stroll into Lewes. Would definately return.

  • Liked — The decoration and cleanliness and general atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shelleys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.