We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian value in Lewes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Famiglia Lazzati

Famiglia Lazzati
17 Market Street, Lewes BN7 2NB, England
01273 479539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 87 Restaurants in Lewes
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Famiglia Lazzati is a small, family-run restaurant located just off Lewes High Street, serving authentic Italian food in a relaxed, friendly environment. High quality stone-baked pizzas, pasta and daily specials using seasonal, locally sourced ingredients such as risotto with roasted butternut squash, rocket and parmesan; zuppa di pesce with locally caught plaice, haddock, salmon, king prawns, mussels and calamari; sirloin steak with hand-cut chips. Extensive list of homemade desserts including tiramisu and panna cotta, and small but well-priced wine list. Friendly, efficient service. Ideal for romantic dinners, family lunches and special celebrations (separate dining area for groups).
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian value in Lewes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Great Italian food great value and great service.
We had the lunch special of 2 courses for pounds 10 .Generous portions with the best pizza I have had in years with a crispy crust good to the last bite. They have a "tour of Italy " theme at the moment with the current menu using recipes from Sicily .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    63
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little piece of Rome in Lewes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great restaurant, electric atmosphere, bustling with life. It was like stepping into an Italian restaurant off the back streets of Rome! The food was fresh and perfectly cooked and just the right portion size. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Lewes, and we will be back to eat there very soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“great service and warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I chose the restaurant based on trip advisor reviews and it was just as we hoped. we arranged to meet for family lunch before a wedding and two groups had terrible journeys. one was late and another very late. the restaurant staff could not have been more understanding or friendly they held the table for us and happily served a second sitting for the very late everyone enjoyed their lunch and a favourite was the calzone

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“mostly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We live locally and have eaten here many times. We shared mixed seafood starter which was excellent. My husband had fish stew which he said was excellent, I chose chicken with olives and fennel from specials board, the chicken portion was very small but tasty but the sauce was over reduced which made it very salty and it was a bit disappointing overrall. We were too full for dessert but we did have some nice dessert wine instead. The service was excellent and friendly but without being intrusive.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bland and Tasteless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Ordered a pasta putanesca - advertised as a rich tomato sauce with olives, capers, chilli, anchovies and garlic. What came was bland, watery and tasteless - like the chef (???) had opened a can of plum tomatoes, heated them in a microwave with a few added ingredients and dumped it on the pasta. Rubbish cooking. Side salad came with no dressing. Why is Lewes such a desert for good restaurants ?

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famiglia Lazzati also viewed

Lewes, East Sussex
 
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Famiglia Lazzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famiglia Lazzati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.