We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top ten things to do in Lewes? # 1 - stay at Monty's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes
Save
You added Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes to your Saves list
Broughton House | 16 High Street, Lewes BN7 2LN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
January - April 2016
Ranked #1 of 35 Lewes B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top ten things to do in Lewes? # 1 - stay at Monty's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night and we had, quite simply, a magical time -- the room, decor, comfort, facilities, welcome by the owners, location, and more, were all outstanding. I could not recommend it more highly and look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have stayed on occasion at the previous Monty's and was so impressed with the quality of the room that I wrote a review. So when I booked to stay at the new Monty's I knew it was going to be of the same high standard, but couldn't believe how impressive the new room is. It has the same crisp linens and fluffly towels, but the space is huge. There is a sofa, four poster bed, shower and separate bath. But the most impressive feature is the high celing with original exposed beams. If you didn't get a chance to stay at the old Monty's, don't worry, this one is even better!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The room at Monty's took my breath away. It is much bigger than it looks on the web site and the attention to detail is first rate. Robes, chocolates, cakes and toiletries were all much appreciated. The room also has a coffee maker, iPod dock and a wonderful selection of books.
This is the perfect spot for discovering Lewes or house hunting (as we were doing) as you are straight out of the door into the centre of things.
We really appreciated the warm welcome we received from Vicky and Paul and we had a great weekend.
Gill and Mel Green

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The new Montys is even better than the previous one - and that takes some doing! Now in a fabulous location on the High Street, the new apartment on the top floor is simply stunning - you could be forgiven for thinking you were in fact staying in a 5-star hotel. With views out towards the South Downs, a state-of-the-art shower room, freestanding Victorian roll-top bath, Sky TV, unbelievably comfortable double bed, it is absolutely the lap of luxury. And to cap it all Vicki and Paul are the most charming and helpful hosts you could ever hope to find.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Monty's flatlet was the perfect base for us during the Lewes folk festival. It was great to be self contained and the accomodation was the most stylish I've ever stayed in. Vicki is the most attentive and friendly hostess. Lovely!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We loved this B & B, which was more like a small basement apartment. Right in the centre of Lewes it provided a great base from which to explore the town and further afield. The rooms are tastefully decorated, with lots of luxurious touches here and there. The bed was especially comfortable, and we loved having tv in both living room and bedroom. The small kitchen area meant that we were able to provide ourselves with snacks and drinks whenever we wanted. We will certainly return when in the area. Oh yes, walk the down the hill to South Street and find the marvellous food at The Snowdrop Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We spent the night here when attending a party in Lewes. I had done my research but was was apprehensive as I always do my research - and I always seem to end up with the worst room in the place! I arrived in the morning and Vicky's welcome was so warm and the apartment so perfect for our overnight stay (I wish we could have stayed longer). Vicky gave me a lovely gift bag of beauty goodies, and the luxury items of cleaner/toner etc. in the bathroom were such a surprise. Coffee and home made muesli were a great breakfast. All I can add, is, if you get to stay here, you will have a great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes

Address: Broughton House | 16 High Street, Lewes BN7 2LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Our aim is to offer our guests a luxurious and self-contained home-from-home. We have renovated the apartment in a light, contemporary style while retaining its stunning original features. Montys has high ceilings, beautiful exposed roof beams with large industrial hanging lamps, and views of the High Street and garden. There is a large modern oak four-poster bed, free-standing bath, en-suite walk-in shower and toilet, Wi-Fi, TV with Sky Plus, and large book shelves with a good selection of books for you to enjoy. There is also a small kitchenette area for preparing drinks/snacks.We hope that a stay at Montys will give you the best of both worlds: a central location from which to enjoy all that Lewes has to offer, and a comfortable retreat for rest and relaxation.Stay Sunday and Monday nights and get 2nd night half price!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Montys Bed And Breakfast Lewes East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montys Bed and Breakfast Lewes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.