We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maggie's

Maggie's
Rock-a-Nore Road,, Hastings TN34 3DW, England
+44 (0)1424 430205
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 259 Restaurants in Hastings
Price range: $31 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Superb fish and chips, all local fish, very important to book in advance. Has limited selection of bottled beers, but its not a pub so to be expected. Well worth making the effort for.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    29
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“VERY good fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Please make a reservation if you want to have a good fish&chips. No reservation, no table. My friend made the reservation and we were so happy to have a seat. Take the small version. The rest is definitely too big to handle! You have a view at the beach, the fishing boats and the sea. If I'm ever back in Hastings, I'll visit them again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My friend was recommended this little place and was told to make a booking before going.
Well I can see why. It is set above the fish market right on the beach, behind the fishing boats, with an amazing sea view. It is very hard to find unless directed. The only sign that there is a restaurant is a board outside to say it is fully booked. It is not a particularly pretty place and had quite a basic menu.
BUT, it,s all about the fish, which is delivered fresh in the morning, straight from the boat and cooked to order along with the amazingly crispy chips. The SMALL portion we ordered was hanging over the plate, the medium, we saw, was enormous and the large consisted of two fillets, both hanging over the sides of the plate too. From £6.50 to £12.50 in price it is very good value for money. The service is very friendly.
The opening times are 6am to 3pm , they have 2 sittings for lunch and are always fully booked.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fresh fish, properly cooked, generous portions, great service. Need I say more, not the cheapest but by far the best and so worth every penny.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Read the reviews and were determined to try whilst in Hastings for the Bank Holiday. Very popular, had to book for a table. Superb chips and the fish, obviously very fresh, was astounding. Maggie's portions are enormous. We had Haddock - 2 pieces, each over 10" long plus ample chips and cooked to perfection. Find Maggie's tucked away amongst the fish huts but book first to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Maggie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.