We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings to your Saves list
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Pure luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I booked the dinner, bed & breakfast mid week deal last minute with my husband to celebrate our wedding anniversary. 50% off the price was taken over the phone as a deposit and the service was friendly, yet professional.

We arrived on Sunday afternoon. Having not been to Hastings for many years found the town looking very run down, but don’t be put off. As soon as you step into the Zanzibar it’s like stepping into a different world.

Very friendly check in service (I think the lady was called Monica) who assisted us to our room – Africa. Stairs are not an issue for us but worth noting if you struggle there is not a lift.

Our room was stunning and it’s little touches that make this place so special – dressing gowns, slippers, binoculars, iPod docking station etc. The room was very large. The bed massive and very comfortable. Clean to the highest standards. Basically everything you want from a hotel room!
The sea view and Jacuzzi bath give the wow factor.

The DVD library is also a nice touch.

We had breakfast in bed served to us in our room and it was perfect! Such a great selection – couldn’t fault anything.

Check out seemed early at 11am as we could have happily stayed all week!

Would highly recommended booking at stay here – it’s expensive but worth it. Also worth pointing out there is no car parking facilities! We were not aware of this before turned up and lucky found a free space along one of the back roads. You may have to park quite far from the hotel or pay at the nearest car park.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have stunning views over the English channel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    38
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
262
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the South American room on Friday night. It's probably the nicest hotel room we've stayed in, it's lush! The sea views are beautiful, the bed was massive and really comfy. The bath in the room is ace, so luxurious with the sea views. The toilet in the room might put people off but we've been together long enough for that not to be a problem!

The staff were really friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious which we ate in the room. It's not cheap but worth every penny - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for only one night in this hotel but we wished it was longer.
Although the first impression did not go too well - we arrived at 8pm and there was no receptionist! It rapidly improved.
I had booked the Penthouse and was amazed by the whole experience. The room was massive had a great view of the ocean directly in front and was furnished to an extremely high standard.
To have a room that includes a Jukebox, a fish tank table and a raised bathtub complete with water from the ceiling is a first in my experience and not what I was expecting.
Breakfast in the morning was served in your room and was first class.
The staff were very helpful and when we left were mortified that I had carried our luggage down the stairs alone. Speaking of stairs the only negative for the hotel was no lift and extremely steep stairs( particularly to the top floor) but this was a minor point only.
If you are looking to take a loved one somewhere a bit different and a bit special then the top floor of the Zanzibar will definitely fit the bill!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with a group of friends celebrating a birthday. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful, the rooms were outstanding. I stayed in Bali which was beautifully decorated with everything I could want in it. Breakfast was amazing, no problem catering for our large party.the evening menu was small but well thought out, and i have to say the steak was best steak I have ever tasted. I hope to return soon.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My planned 50th birthday celebrations April 2013 - we booked 5 rooms for 10 guests.
First night we had our evening meal in the Zanzibar and it was excelllent we had the most fantastic food and every single meal was enjoyed we had plenty of good wine, cocktails and champagne and without exception my friends were all raving about the quality servce and surroundings. Breakfast was just perfect good quality hot well cooked food cooked fresh to everyones speciifc choice. We were not rushed our meals were relaxed. My guests had all travelled from various towns to celebrate with me and the rooms, the luxury. the views.and the bathing facilities were all with out doubt exceptional. The price felt a bit steep when we booked but we all agreed the experience of Zanzibar is honestly worth every penny and I would not hesitate to pay it again. I strongly recommend and even urge you to try Zanzibar if you are visiting Hastings or the local area. PS we went out to Fancy Dress on our second night and the staff accommadated us and our costumes extremely well ....

Room Tip: I was in Africa excellent ..... Antartica Excellent..... Bali smaller but lovely though close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

i love this place, i first came to Zanzibar on valentines day a few years ago, it was my valentines gift from my boyfriend, we stayed in manhatten, since then me and my partner have stayed in every room, i cant get enough of this place, i love it so much i would stay there time and time again, even though ive already stayed in every room.
such a lovely hotel and no other place can beat it.
thanks to max and the gang....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A good hotel, with great breakfast, great view, nice room.
Negative points: the window was not double-glazed and the road in front was noisy.
It was in an area that was not very nice, about 20 minutes from the town centre.
I thought it was slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings

Address: 9 Eversfield Place, Hastings TN37 6BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-front hotel with good size, well-designed rooms providing outstanding creature comforts. Unbroken, panoramic sea views through elegant floor-to-ceiling windows. The perfect hideaway for those needing to de-stress and unwind. Big soft bathrobes, complimentary slippers, contemporary bathrooms for your well-being. Quiet rooms and the finest Egyptian cotton bed linen for the perfect night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.