We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Travelodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hastings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Hastings to your Saves list
Travelodge Hastings
Bohemia Road, Hastings TN34 1ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average Travelodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights, 20th and 21st August with husband and daughter in a family room. Firstly, the manager stated he had recently taken over so maybe there are improvements in store? Anyway, he was very friendly, explained about the fact you have to pay to park, they are stuck in a contract with some company but he is trying to get them out of this. He did tell us parking was free in the road and there were loads of spaces so we did that. Right outside. Easy. We used the toilets by restaurant, not very nice to be honest, no toilet rolls in any of them, men or womens, but there was a sign for a wet floor so maybe someone was about to put some in.
The bedroom was large, lots of space to put things, television, kettle with tea and coffee, they gave us more stuff when we run out no problems. Only downside was I have to be honest the toilet stank of urine, but it looked clean everywhere, bath mat looked a bit rank to be honest though! We told the manager and he sent someone out within 10 minutes to clean the toilet. Sheets were very clean and bed very comfortable. Lots of towels, fresh each day and beds made, cups changed, soaps and plenty of toilet roll. So overall the bedroom was to be expected. But was disappointed with the breakfast, the man that worked there was really friendly, he was working as quick as he could clearing tables, bringing new food out etc and he did seem to keep on top of it just about. The only thing was I thought the food was a bit poor in the sense I think it was cheap brands, the sausages and bacon was not very nice. Also the fruit was lacking, some oranges in a syrup it looked like. Some little muffins and cold croissants, there was yoghurts and coffee but it was not as nice as I expected. I would definitely give the breakfast a miss and go to a café. Overall the Travelodge served its purpose as a cheap stay (I mean it is reasonable so can't moan too much), and was clean enough and about a ten minute walk to Hastings seafront which we loved. We had a good break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    68
    30
    24
    14
See reviews for
66
107
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just spent two nights here and although room very comfortable we had to ask for extra toilet paper as it was nearly empty, also only one large and one small towel for two people so had again ask for more. The bathroom could also have done with being much cleaner as round the base of the shower and on the floor it had a border of old staining.
We were very disappointed in the selection of food for the cooked breakfast and at no time did any staff ask if we needed any help infact there seemed to be a very small staff on duty at any time. The second morning when we went down for breakfast we had to ask for milk, fruit juice (the machine was empty) and bowls for the cereal. We have stayed in other similar establishments and can only say that in comparison the service and attention to any details is far superior and certainly worth paying a little more for. We were also not made aware that parking had to be paid for from a machine outside as although there are notices up it is not something you would expect to do, it would be a good idea if the staff pointed this out when you book in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Hastings, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We’re sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay ChrisBam. We do expect all rooms to be clean and set up correctly for the number of occupants. Furthermore we’d expect our staff to be helpful and provide great service at all times. Your comments will be passed to our Hotel Management team so they are able to address these issues and remind staff of the importance of customer care and attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Travelodge have really upped the game with the Hastings Travelodge. All of the normal irritations of cheap & ancient mattresses & pillows, insufficient pillows, no breakfast, noisy premises etc have been addressed beyond recognition - I'll use this one again in preference to the competition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you want a twin room don't book a Travelodge as one of you will get an uncomfortable sofa to sleep on. One night with parking, breakfast and wifi costs nearly £100 - you can get a 4* hotel in Hastings for much less than for that price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Hastings, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We’re sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay Pat B B. Not all of our hotels will have twin rooms with two separate single beds, however our family rooms contain a double bed and a sofa bed. We find that this set up meets the needs of our customers although we are sorry that on this occasion you found the sofa bed to be uncomfortable. We understand you are unhappy with your room rate, we are still committed to offering competitive rates and advise customers to book as far in advance as possible to access the cheapest rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The bathroom was not cleanest and the shower curtain had mould on the bottom.We paid extra for the "all you can eat breakfast"as it is claimed to be.It could possibly be renamed the "all you can find" breakfast.We arrived in the breakfast room at 9.00am(breakfast finishes at 10.00am) the hotel had run out of eggs.There were no plates,bowls for cereal or glasses for fruit juice available.Although we were told the hotel was fully booked there was only member of staff on duty in the breakfast room and he had to cook the food,clear the tables and wash the dishes and cutlery.The staff at the hotel didn't seem interested in any aspect of guests stay at the hotel.Had we been asked how our stay was when we checked out then we could have expressed our concerns but as I said before the staff seemed uniterested.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire , United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

For the price we paid it was great value for money, rooms fairly basic but adequate and new beds very comfortable. Only complaint was the temperature of the room but we were visiting during a heatwave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

about 10mins down hill walk to seafront a little further to the center of town . Lovely clean quiet hotel As always with Travelodge good sized family room.
Parking on site is charged at 33 /night but paid in advance you dont think about it.
Parking in Hastings is difficult except in carparks but after 6pm they charge £1 on the promonade
Hastings is great for a traditional UK family holiday although the town & seafront its self is rundown money is obviously being invested as the promonade now has a great play area & crazy golf with good clean kiosks for food & drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hastings

Address: Bohemia Road, Hastings TN34 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Travelodge Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hastings Hotel Hastings
Travel Lodge Hastings
Hastings Travelodge
Hastings Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hastings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.