We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added White Rock Hotel to your Saves list
White Rock Hotel
White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“All round excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Booked last minute as a stressbuster weekend. From the outside it looked a bit ordinary but once inside it was obviously anything but ordinary. The staff were very friendly but not stuffy, even taking us up to our room and explaining a bit about the hotel. The room we had booked was beautifully decorated to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. We were provided with ample tea and coffee and a fridge for us to put our own drinks in. The cafe-bar again was lovely, the food was reasonably priced but to a high standard. The "Full Audrey" breakfast was legendary! On the whole the hotel far exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be booking there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    128
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
142
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stayed here for one night on business. I selected this hotel as to be honest, Hastings doesn't have much choice in accommodation. I arrived fairly late in the evening, but the hotel is very easy to find and in a great position. It's not that attractive from the outside, but I forgot this quickly as the welcome I got from the receptionist was great. She was incredibly friendly and efficient.

I had a sea view room which was really pleasant - very clean and spacious with a nice mix of character and modern facilities. Almost everything had been thought of - I particularly like the well stocked, fairtrade refreshment tray. I had room service - a sandwich and some fries. All good - but there was just too much food for one person. But this maybe a sign of generosity from the kitchen.

Just a couple of quibbles - the hotel smelt really strongly of frying/oil and it seemed all pervasive. It was quite unpleasant. I was also struck by some small examples of a lack of attention to detail which let the otherwise good staff down. My bathroom was very modern and clean - but the bath side panel had come loose and was standing apart from the bath. It only needed a quick nudge to put it back in place but whoever had cleaned the bathroom hadn't done this. When I took a shower I noticed 2 empty shower gel bottles stood on top of the screen - again not moved by the cleaner. So on first impression the bathroom looked a bit shabby to me - which it really wasn't.

Like others I also found the noise from the corridors (which are very narrow and dimly lit so guests do bump the walls with their bags etc.) and the road very loud. The double glazing at the front of the hotel is hopeless. Traffic kept me awake as the road is very busy. In fact, it's the one think that would make me think twice about staying at the hotel again. But, on the whole it was a reasonable stay and again, the friendliness of the receptionist (a different one) when I checked out really stood out.

  • Liked — Friendly and efficient service
  • Disliked — Traffic and guest noise and oily smell
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

There's a lot this hotel seems to get right, friendly staff, ultra clean rooms and a good selection of drinks at the bar.

Although we were pleased with the above, the most important thing about staying at any hotel is that you get a good nights sleep. First and fore most your guests will be happy if they get a good nights sleep. I thought the bed was comfy but through the thin walls I could hear people walking up and down the corridor right next to us. In fact it was so loud they may as well have been walking right past our bed. To solve this all the hotel would need to do is fix the creaky floor boards.

I find a lot of hotels make the mistake of not providing rooms with heavy black out curtains. The sun was shining on our light curtains in the morning and this kept waking us up.

We spent the whole day feeling knackered.

  • Liked — The helpful Staff
  • Disliked — The noisy, bright, hot room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night with two friends after our trip to Paris was cancelled because of the fire in the Eurotunnel. We loved the hotel and the Old Town in Hastings. The reception staff were friendly and extremely helpful. The food was good and well presented. The bar and cafe staff were also very friendly. The location is perfect opposite the pier with uninterrupted sea views. The rooms we had were fully renovated and better than many we have stayed in around the world. The owners are continuing with renovations in the public areas, but it is already a very pleasant place in which to stay. We were so impressed by the hotel that we are going to return for a weekend stay with our daughter next month. After the disappointment of our Paris trip being cancelled, we and our friends left Hastings with very pleasant memories of the town and the White Rock Hotel.

  • Liked — High standard of accomodation and friendly efficient service
  • Disliked — More renovation/decoration needed, but is underway
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Any small hotel that prominently advertises real ales and dog friendly is almost invariably an OK place to stay. Real ales take a lot of looking after and dogs give chambermaids extra work so it's a sign of a proprietor who has a passion for his business as opposed to simply wanting to make money from you.

The location is excellent, right opposite the pier and literally next door to the theatre where we enjoyed an evening of rock 'n roll nostalgia; don't worry , it does opera too!

The staff are warm and friendly; in the main they're foreign as with most hotels these days but they all love to talk, they smile and they make you welcome.

Yes, if you're critical you'll find loads of things sorely in need of improvement but improvement is going on seemingly non-stop. No doubt , if the proprietor could chuck half a million pounds at it, it would be a lot better but this is a private hotel with a fully committed and involved proprietor, not an impersonal chain hotel; you leave feeling he's getting there and wanting to go back to see how it's all developing. Nothing is too much trouble and after a brief tour we already know the room we want to stay in on our next visit!

  • Liked — Good room; excellent locationwith pets; breakfast served till noon
  • Disliked — Car parking (but ample offsite parking); pokey corridors in dire need of refurbishment
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

The White Rock was in the midst of extensive redecoration during our stay but this was explained to us in great detail by the friendly receptionist and offered to show us the room and the work being carried out before parting with our money, which was a rarity and very fair.

The room was spacious and immaculate. Furnishings and pictures, as well as a model boat, were new and very modern. The bed, sheets and duvet looked new and were extremely comfortable.

We had a sea view which was slightly obscured as the window was reasonably small and above average head height but could be seen through if sitting on the table and high stools provided.

The location was perfect - just along the seafront from the main touristy parts so quietish without being to far too far from everything.

Overall, a little expensive (Double room with sea view at £90 without breakfast) but a friendly and hassle-free, convenient stay in a superb, modern room,. Would probably choose to stay here rather than any other in Hastings if I had the opportunity again.

  • Liked — The Location and room
  • Disliked — Slightly overpriced
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Start with Hastings being a dump. If you have to stay here, I would not recommend this hotel. The outside is shabby, the public rooms are not pleasant and probably worse of all, it is on the main road and very noisy all night. We stayed in one of the most expensive rooms (110), which was functional, clean and okay - but at £99 with no breakfast, not good value. The staff could barely string two words of English together.
If you are looking for a romantic break, keep driving!

  • Liked — rooms were comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — cnstant noise and overall shabby appearance
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.