We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added White Rock Hotel to your Saves list
White Rock Hotel
White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We came here just for a day trip but decided to stay over the night before rather than driving up on the Saturday morning. We arrived just after 9pm on a Friday night, and were promptly shown to our room. We went for the budget double bed room (at £64 a night). At first I was a bit worried about this as there is no picture on the website, but my worries were unfounded. The room is a decent size, and the bathroom was huge! A small wardrobe and table were in the corner complete with an array of teas, coffees, mugs and a kettle. The bathroom was well kitted out with a 3 piece suite and a range of soaps, shower gels and shampoo. The bedsheets were white and crisp as per the website. For the low price, I couldn't really complain. For parking, unfortunately, the private car park was full so we were given a free overnight pass to the car park opposite the hotel.

The next morning, we had breakfast in the terrace bar. We both opted for the smaller full English breakfast which came with a drink. The food itself was fairly average (we thought our usual home cooked Saturday morning fry up was better!). A 20% discount was applied as it was charged to our room, so it came to £9.60 for the two of us. It was a shame we couldn't arrive earlier on the Friday evening (due to work) as I would have liked to stay a bit longer in the room! We checked out at half 10 and paid the mere £73.60 for room and breakfast. We also kept the car in the same car park and paid £2.20 for a 24 hour pass! The location itself is quite central although there are hotels slightly closer to the town centre and Old Town.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again. I highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, then opt for the double rooms! Don't worry about the lack of a picture o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    128
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
33
142
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swanley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Our bedroom was roomy and the bed comfortable. Nice shower, bath, wardrobe etc. We had a sea view including a view of the burnt out pier (being restored). The road was a busy, noisy road. Parking was available. There was a lift but it was very small. Staff helpful and polite. Parts of the hotel could do with a bit of a facelift eg. old looking carpets and flaking paintwork.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for five days July 2014. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean spacious room (family room), good food. Pet friendly hotel, so we met a few dogs daily (all on leash and behaved well, I was a bit concerned in advance because of our 3 year old child ). There's a house cat also. My husband is allergic to both dogs and cats and didn't have any trouble, they must surely do a good job cleaning. Stairs at the hotel entrance (not wheel chair/pram friendly), but only 5-6 steps. Hotel corridors are quite narrow, so we left the pram at the lobby. Very good location near the beach, nice view from bar/restaurant and sea-front-rooms (must cross a road with quite a bit of traffic though). Some noise from the traffic, not a big problem. Great walk along the beach to the old city. Only a10-15 minute's walk to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We came here on our honeymoon 4 years ago and loved every min of it,we had a room that faced the sea and the pier(before it was burn't down).The weather was fantastic not to hot and not to cold just right(we went in the middle of July).I have always loved it at Hastings and always will,the sights in and around the area are very beautiful.The room was fantastic very clean and kept up to date.I would love to come back again and again and again,if you fancy a get away i would say go to the White Rock Hotel its very cheap very near to the high street and the night life.If i had to rate this hotel out of 10 i would give it 11 FANTASTIC XXXXX

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are the best and the rooms are very clean x
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I recommended this hotel to a friend who was visiting with a friend who needed a wheelchair. A few weeks before their arrival I dropped into the hotel and was disappointed to find that the lift to the ground floor was out of use. I was told that it would be fixed very soon. Well - very soon became three weeks. My friends arrived to find no lift, the hotel had given them the option to withdraw their booking and promised that help would be on hand.
They arrived and found no help. They said they had a temporary ramp but none was present. No one was available to help. it got worse when they reached their room. A free standing cabinet in the bathroom not attached to the wall almost tumbled on her. There were no grab rails in the bathroom. When I phoned to complain on their behalf, I received a lot of apologies but no promise of help. The mouth piece of the hotel was not able to offer any solutions. My friends continued to labour up and down the stairs with one having to carry a very heavy wheelchair with no assistance.
This is a good hotel with a good bar and mostly good food (I would have to say that the ploughman's lunch is very disappointing.with packaged soft sliced bread - really weird in a town with so many artisan bakers)
They have let themselves down with their lack of thought for my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

First visit. Not the usual kiss-me-quick seaside guesthouse. This hotel is more sophisticated with nice terrace bars and a good breakfast service. We stayed on the third floor with a sea view. Yes the road can be noisy. Yes the room is hot and so we kept the windows open, but there was a portable air-con unit for use so in the end it was our choice to do it this way - perhaps Fri/Sat night the traffic noise is worse but Sun/Mon was bearable and the sound of the sea, when the tide is in, compensates for the occasional traffic.

Room fitted out very well (tea/coffee, biscuits, fridge, water) and bathroom was to a very good standard. The floor was very creaky (not sure what was under the carpets!) an the corridors and lifts very cramped - bit of a rabbit warren to get back to reception.

Staff friendly throughout. One word of caution was that we had an attempted break-in to our car in the car-park round the back.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms do have a good view, but suffer from road noise. First floor rooms have bigger windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The White Rocks hotel sits opposite the damaged pier in Hastings. It has an outdoor seating area overlooking the beach and is probably the best place in Hastings to relax and stare at the sea.

Food and drinks in the bar/cafe are reasonably priced and of decent quality. JJ who does pretty much everything around the bar/kitchen scene is brilliant, spending time with guests, providing excellent service and information and just being generally friendly.

The room was large, with a huge, comfortable bed, decent TV and channels, coffee & tea making facilities, hairdryer etc. The bathroom was just a shower but decent, although very dimly lit.

We were here for 4 days and it felt great as a safe and comfortable base to stay in while we explored the surrounding areas.

The only complaint really is that the floors of the hotel are old, loose and creaky, so anyone in the corridors sounded like an elephant pounding past the room, while the room above us was obviously a Rhino.

The cleaners were in every day, with clean linen and towels.
The lift is the smallest we've every come across.
Free parking is available at the rear of the hotel for guests.

I wouldn't bother paying the extra for the 1st floor rooms "with balcony" as although they have french windows, there's no actual balcony.

Don't expect the hotel to be fancy, but it is very comfortable and friendly and in an excellent location.

Room Tip: We have 3rd floor sea view room, perfectly adequate but get used to the rickety stairs down to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rock Hotel

Address: White Rock, Hastings TN34 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rock Hotel is not your average hotel. As well as its fantastic location on Hastings seafront, it has a laid back, individual character that is popular with business and leisure travelers alike. We have a friendly cafe-bar; free wifi broad band access; are completely no smoking; and welcome well behaved pets. Minutes from the town centre, opposite the pier and next door to the White Rock Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your White Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rock Hastings
Hotel White Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.