We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering Apartment No.2” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Senlac Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Senlac Guest House to your Saves list
Senlac Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   47 Cambridge Gardens, Hastings TN34 1EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 51 Hastings B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
“Self catering Apartment No.2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights, great welcome and given parking voucher for nearby car park. You need to pay from 11am to 4pm each day £3.50. Main bedroom at front of house and quite busy road made it difficult for me to get a restful sleep, although husband and youngest daughter did sleep well. The lounge was at the back of the house with a sofa/day bed which was superb for my 15 year old daughter and the traffic noise could not be heard. Great size wall mounted TV with DVDs to choose from as well as a few games. Everything was clean and modern and attention to detail was excellent. Kitchen facilities were excellent and included basics like washing up liquid, tea towels, kitchen roll. Normally with self catering these are not included. The restaurants were within easy walking distance and only 5 minutes to the beach front. Shower room was very clean and a good size and towels were fluffy. Apartment 2 is at the top of the house, so lots of stairs to climb with your luggage. During our stay we didn't hear any other guests, only the seagulls. Would book again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
90
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Senlac. We received a warm welcome and were given lots of useful information both verbally and in the information folder provided. Although there isn`t on-site parking you are able to unload outside and are then given a free parking voucher for a nearby car park. Our room was extremely clean and very tastefully decorated and furnished - everything was co-ordinated and matching. The shower room was also very clean and with a good supply of toiletries. It was quite small, which didn`t bother me as I`m only 4ft 11" but my husband found it a bit of a squeeze though not a problem for a night or two. There is a small, pleasant courtyard garden at the rear where guests can sit out. Breakfast isn`t available at weekends, but there are tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a mini fridge, and plenty of places for breakfast nearby. The location is ideal - a few minutes walk to the town and seafront and about 8 minutes to the Old town where there are plenty of restaurants and pubs and some interesting shops. All in all the Senlac is a great place to stay and we would certainly book again if we visit Hastings in the future.

Room Tip: We had room 10 which is at the back so no traffic noise but the road to the front is not busy It`s i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked the day before, easy check in, very pleasant, superb local information provided. Room was brilliant, beautifully decorated and very stylish: the kids loved it, especially the mini-fridge. (we stayed in a three person family room). Location was brilliant, an easy walk to the seafront and the old town. Excellent recommendations given for eating out and the breakfast was brilliant. My only complaint it that we we did not stay longer. I would definately go again and would recommend it for families and couples. All in all a very modern and sophisticated place nothing like the grimy old B&Bs of my youth; this was as my children said "swag"! Price excellent, cleanliness superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A very clean and modern room would recommend anyone wanting to visit Hastings to try this guest house first. It was within walking distance of the old town for restaurants and bars a really good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very clean and comfortable room was fearing the worst for the price I got the room for but was extremely surprised when I got there to how high quality it all was. Would recommend to anyone wanting to go to Hastings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely people who made our stay as relaxing as possible. The guest house was quiet in spite of being fully booked and the room was clean and comfortable, and refreshed daily. There was room for a travel cot and all the paraphernalia a baby requires. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A very comfortable, extremely clean and well appointed, it makes the break a good trip excellent. I did not hear any of the other guests even though Senlac was full, so a peaceful nights rest in a good bed. Very well designed shower room, a good sized shower, quality fittings, bright and spotless without being clinical.

I have stayed in other hotels and guest houses and this is the only one I would want to stay in again.

Highly recommended and friendly greeting.

Room Tip: I think it would be hard to select a good room when I am sure they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Senlac Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senlac Guest House

Address: 47 Cambridge Gardens, Hastings TN34 1EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Senlac Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senlac Guest House Hastings - offering 8 stylish & afforable guest bedrooms. The house is perfectly positioned only a stone's throw from the hustle and bustle of Hastings town centre, excellent restaurants, trendy bars, traditional pubs and Hastings train and coach station. A short stroll will bring you to the beach and vibrant old town of Hastings with its famous fishing beach, boutiques, book shops and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Senlac Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senlac Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.