We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Double Dragon

Double Dragon
3 Saint Helen's Crescent, Hastings, England
01424 420888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 245 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Ayrshire,Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Went here tonight looking for a "local" Chinese restaurant. We were seated quickly and our drinks order taken promptly.
after 20 minutes no one had returned to take our order. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 children!
The place was not even that busy where the staff were rushing about.
I had to personally go get a member of staff to take our order!
The food came quickly but we were a abit disappointed in the portion sizes and the fact that there were no child sized portions! An adult meal was adequate for our eldest son who is 10 years old.
The food was good tho. they do a special Sunday offer where adults can eat from an all you can eat buffet for £13 and children about £6 or £7!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    6
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
FIFE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Meal Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have never had such an excellent Chinese meal. The place is spotless, food fantastic and reasonably priced and staff smiling and friendly. The quality of the food was just perfect. What more can you ask for. Give it a try.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, Bucks
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The staff were friendly and attentive.The food good and reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not the best but OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

A decent enough place but there are a lot better places to eat out in Hastings, it used to be an MSG hell but better recently. I would go there if it was a group thing but would look around as there are great places like Boulavard Books -Thai and The Gurkah Chef

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waltham cross
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very nice, lovely location but typically 'English' Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We made a reservation for the Friday night of our arrival in Hastings. Since my partner is Chinese we tend tio eat a lot of Chinese food. Even though we both enjoyed our meal and I'm sure that 95% of all customers would the food is what I would call typically 'English' Chinese. To get a proper Chinese meal in England you still have to go to London. It is such a shame that they don't serve up some 'proper' chinese dishes..... we Brits are more adventurous than you think and our tastes are expanding with every year, so please give us some real Chinese food ! (Just look how busy 'My Old Place' near Liverpool Street n London is..... even with its appalling service).

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Dragon also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Double Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.