We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in Hastings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northrise Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Northrise Lodge to your Saves list
Northrise Lodge
97 Fairlight Road, Hastings TN35 5EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 51 Hastings B&B and Inns
Gent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in Hastings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed in Northrise Lodge for one night on our return trip from Sussex to Belgium. We couldn't have asked for a nicer stopover and were sorry we couldn't stay a bit longer. Our hosts, Andrea and Nick, made us feel very welcome and obviously run this B&B with a lot of passion. The room,'Frost', was very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean (and had one of the best showers we've ever used). The breakfast was 'cooked to measure' and also very tasty. We hope to come back sometimes to stay an extra couple of days longer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just arrived back from a two night stay away celebrating my husband's birthday. Exceptionally clean. Beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout. It was very homely. Marple room with super kingsize bed had a view of the sea in the distance. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay perfect. Everything you could possibly need in the room and more. Even a birthday card and sweets. How thoughtful. Nick and Andrea deserve to do well in their business. They should both feel very proud of their achievement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

very very clean and friendly, great room, brill brekky deffo will stay again - we stayed in the Purple room - veiws of the sea and Eastbourne in the distance, bed room had all the bits and peices and alot extra

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wow - a fabulous bed and breakfast. The rooms are extra special, so clean and modern with lovely little touches. There is a lovely guest lounge and garden area to relax in. The breakfast was lovely too. Andrea and Nick made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend staying here, we certainly will return.

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely, the rosemary and thyme room has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in Northrise Lodge which is a beautifully appointed guest house on the outskirts of Hastings. The bedrooms are large and comfortable and have been beautifully decorated by the owners, Andrea and Nick - who are friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to ensure guests have a wonderful stay. We would thoroughly recommend a stay with them. When we are next in the area we will certainly return to Northrise. Thank you Andrea and Nick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

room "Marple": we had a huge kingsize bed, amazing shower, flatscreen tv, salon hairdryer, free wifi, everything you need. There were bathrobes and slippers, fresh bottles of water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate & cookies. The house itself was so beautiful, everything was new & in mint...
more

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Northrise Lodge is a lovely B&B. Andrea and Nick made us feel very welcome and the room was very comfortable and decorated beautifully.
We stayed for 2 nights friday and saturday and had a great time. Hastings town centre is about half an hour walk away but it was a nice down hill walk there, always walked back, but those of you who are not keen on a bit of exercise will probably like to get the bus.
Breakfast was lovely very well presented, plenty of choice and tasty.
Would go back again. Thanks Andrea and Nick

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northrise Lodge

Address: 97 Fairlight Road, Hastings TN35 5EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Beautiful Edwardian House" newly renovated "Four Star Bed & Breakfast". Great for a weekend or mid-week break. For the best price call us direct. We are situated with sea views & views of the Country Park. Northrise Lodge is approximately 5 minute drive from Hastings old town seafront. If you enjoy walking, it would take approximately 35 minutes steady walk to reach Hastings Old Town seafront.The Country park is very close, and accessible just across the road, with the Firehills, Fairlight Road Picnic Site, Warren Glen, Fairlight Glen all beautiful places for you to explore, we are an excellent base for walkers and cyclists. We have free street parking at the rear entrance to the B&B, in Beacon Road. There is secure driveway parking for motorbikes. We have beautiful rooms all decorated to a high standard, with stunning modern en-suites."Rosemary & Thyme" is a stunning king-size spacious room, king-size bed, modern en-suite, with power shower, boasts views of the country park and sea, a beautiful original fire place, also has an 42" LCD TV, two comfy tub chairs, plenty of wardrobe space, free Wi-Fi access and a hairdryer, fridge and dressing gowns for your comfort. Toiletries and a selection of tea, coffee, & biscuits. "Marple" is a stunning spacious room, which can also be a twin room, this has a super-kingsize bed,a beautiful original fire place, this room boasts a seaview and has been decorated to a high standard with excellent quality furniture. 42" Flat screen television on the wall. Two comfy tub chairs, plenty of wardrobe space, free Wi-Fi access and a hairdryer, fridge and dressing gowns for your comfort. Toiletries and a selection of tea, coffee, & biscuits. "Clouseau" is a lovely larger double room, double bed, modern en-suite, with power shower, fire place, also has an 32" LCD TV, one comfy tub chair, plenty of wardrobe space, free Wi-Fi access and a hairdryer. Toiletries and a selection of tea, coffee, & biscuits. "Frost" A lovely double room, double bed, modern en-suite, with power shower with a 32" LCD TV, plenty of wardrobe space, free Wi-Fi access and a hairdryer, fridge and dressing gowns for your comfort. Toiletries and a selection of tea, coffee, & biscuits. Garden view.A lovely newly decorated dining/breakfast room.Local interests include Battle, Rye, Bodiam, Winchelsea, Golf Clubs, Museums & Art Galleries, Castles, Theatre, Country walks, all beautiful and interesting places for you to explore during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Northrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northrise Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.