We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slipping into the Victorian Era” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   81 Pevensey Road | St. Leonards on Sea, Hastings TN38 0LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 51 Hastings B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
455 helpful votes 455 helpful votes
“Slipping into the Victorian Era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked the hotel at the last minute to spend a weekend away from London. We saw some photos and found quite nice so we just decided as it s close to Hastings.

It is located on a normal street surrounded by houses. However, once we stepped in the house, it was another era with loads of antiques and interior carefully chosen and decorated by owners. We were offered a top floor with private bathroom outside the bedroom. Both bedroom and bathroom are finely furnished with Victorian motive and details are so much so that we got confused n a good way.

In the bathroom there was no shower as it was in Victorian era and we had to take bath instead. Even toilette was from the era and it requires to pull the flash code twice instead of once.

We were also offered nice afternoon tea with home made sponge cake. Breakfast was also based on Victorian style except that we can drink coffee. Silverware and China were also carefully chosen to reflect Victorian style even if they were not.

Great experience and discovery such a B&B and definitely recommend this place to those who like history and are interested n Victorian style!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul o, Owner at St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Many thanks for your kind and generous review. It was a pleasure to welcome you here and we are glad that you enjoyed the house; do come again and recommend us to your friends!
Very best wishes
Paul and Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place was jawdroppingly beautiful. The house has been transformed to its true Victorian state. No expense has been spared with its attention to detail and luxurious fabric, wall coverings and generally everything. The pictures only give you a small slice of what it actually feels like once you are there. Steven and Paul could honestly open this place as a Victorian museum, It's an education just staying there. Someone should really do a documentary on these two and the labour of love they have sustained over 20 years to transform this place from what was once 3 flats to an elegantly regal Victorian house. I really felt like I stepped back in time. A wonderful Breakfast buffet is served in all the finest silverware plus there's full English too. You have to see it to believe it. Just go. An experience not to be missed. Thanks for your wonderful hospitality Steven and Paul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This lovingly restored bed and breakfast is a late nineteenth century high Victorian dark beauty. Lovers of ecclesiastical art will find much to admire here. Enjoy leaf tea and cake upon arrival. Breakfast is served country house style in an imposing dining room. Forget the television for a few days. Come here. Read a book, in the beautiful garden perhaps if the weather is fine. The bed was comfortable. We stayed in the Colonel's room which is on the first floor; as well as being smart it is perhaps a good choice of room for guests with impaired mobility. We shall return. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Colonel's room for people who cannot cope with too many staps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This bed and breakfast is so much more carefully designed than your average one that it is really is in a league of its own. The owners have provided a Victorian interior which is absolutley fascinating and enthralling. Well done, there's nothing like it anywhere else in England.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I found the experience so relaxing and also quite inspiring for me, as i am someone who is obsessed with the past and loves antiques! I love what Steven and Paul have done and it is clear the passion and love they have for their house. On arrival we were lead into the lounge and my mouth literally dropped with how beautiful it was, Steven brought in tea and delicious cake which we consumed whilst feeling extremely important and proper! Our bedroom was very homely and sweet, we loved it and couldn't have asked for more to be honest. Breakfast was very tasty, it is rare for us to eat breakfast in such opulant surroundings and made the experience even more special. I would definitely go back and recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a completely nostalgic experience, full of warmth and character, taking you out of your everyday life and transporting you back to the past!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stephen & Paul are delightful hosts and warmly welcome you into a quite wonderful world of High Victoriana. From the entrance hall onwards you will be entranced by the amazing and authentic Victorian decor in all rooms. Even if Victorian panache is not exactly to your taste, you should visit for the amazing experience of staying in these fantastic surroundings and sampling a little piece of old world charm. Stephen and Paul have a fascinating story to tell of how they lovingly converted & restored first one, then two flats and finally the whole 4 storey house and beautiful walled gardens. It was a delight and a privilege to be allowed to enjoy this corner of a bygone era, so painstakingly & beautifully recreated. National Trust eat your heart out!
We were fortune enough to be able to enjoy a suberb Victorian dinner in the sumptuous dining room and the breakfast was excellent.
All in all, St Benedict is the pearl of St Leonards and the creme de la creme of B&Bs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

A lovingly restored Victorian house, with amazing attention to detail, full of idiosyncracies. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, great value, a unique B&B experience, although the decor (and welcome lack of televisions and other all mod cons) won't be to everyone's taste.

Breakfast was a shared experience with the other guests on the Sunday morning. 5 minutes walk from the sea, ten minutes from the railway station.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast

Address: 81 Pevensey Road | St. Leonards on Sea, Hastings TN38 0LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We live in a fully restored late Victorian family house, and delight in welcoming guests to the period atmosphere we have created. We pride ourselves on a meticulous attention to detail, and have tried to recreate the style of living of the 1880s. You will find this a very distinctive and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Benedict Victorian Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.