We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Lindum

Save Saved
You added The Lindum to your Saves list
The Lindum
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lindum
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1A Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 50 Hastings B&B and Inns
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The member of staff that greeted us in the reception was the only pleasant thing about this hotel,the room was very small even though we had booked the superior double. the bedding and towels were worn and stained, the walls had serious cracks in them all the way up the stairs 74 to be precise! Curtains were filthy and the smell of damp in our room was overwhelming. It was so bad that we left as soon as it was light as it was impossible to sleep even after having quite a lot of alcohol the night before!!!

Room Tip: Visit the old town and stay clear of the sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
21
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
folkestone, kent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a weekend at this boutique hotel by default. Unable to fly to Jersey as it was snow bound we had no choice but to find a break on the southcoast. The Lindum offered extremely good value. The room was chilly so we were given a fan heater.The bed was comfortable, and clean. The bathwater was hot, and there was a heated towel rail, however as it was such a cold weekend the room was still cold. The hotel is in walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. Parking is available on a pay for 24 hours basis in the underground carpark opposite the hotel. They don't have a restaurant but were able to recommend several nice places. This would be a good base for any one wanting room only accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

On the seafront, great location only minutes from Hastings Old Town and the pier. Very welcoming staff, comfortable and warm room. I had a room in the front so excellent seaview. Price was very reasonable - all in all, a happy find!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked to stay for two night just as a last min thing we was on the 3 floor witch was ok apart from all the stairs, also the pillows are so well used I think they have never been changed, tv is no where near a 20 inc it so old it does not even have a tv control to work it and keeps saying no signal, on Saturday night was keep awake by all the night clubs taxi office and shouting and screaming and fighting also room was not cleaned after our first day as we was told that they thought we was in the room still, staff was friendly on are last morning we had no lights in the room or hot water also the shower well I could spit more then what comes out

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Clean, convenient and good value.

Needed a bigger duvet and would prefer cotton to poly/cotton but then maybe the price would have to go up.

Very friendly welcome and keen to help.

Located on sea front and close to eateries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent two nights in one of the higher grade doubles with a lovely sea view and balcony. It represented good value for money being very clean and well-equipped, with the possible exception of a shower; nice bath though. The hotel does not offer breakfast which is fair enough as they point this out when booking; there are plenty of cafes nearby. There is no lift which I think they might have flagged up. The receptionist was very helpful on arrival, particularly in recommending the best place to park (I notice the hotel next door offered complementary parking) but £2.20 for 24hrs was fine. We later met the owner, again very friendly with excellent recommendations for where to eat. Thereafter we hardly saw anyone and checked ourselves out; again no problem unless you value more human contact.

Room Tip: No lift so beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Couldn't fault the staff at all they were very Friendly and helpful we stayed 3 nights on the 3rd floor not so good if you have difficulty with stairs luckily we dont there are quite a lot and they are quite steep. The room was maybe a little small for a double but it didn't cause any problems and was very clean as was the bathroom.The only real fault with the room was it was at the rear of the hotel. There is a taxi office across the road which attracted people well into the early hours with lots of shouting and swearing. Not the hotels fault but perhaps some soundproofing would help as it sounded like the shouters were in the room with us. As i say nice little hotel not b&b as some have said but the bullet cafe across the road at the rear of the hotel does a lovely selection of food at reasonable prices with vegetarian options as well. The hotel is in a good location near to the town and all the attractions on the seafront.where there is a great chice of pubs and plenty of places to eat .As a previous reviewer said there is an underground car park out front and for £6 you can park the car and forget it for 24 hrs. I would have no problem choosing this hotel again

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the front it may be quieter and the view will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lindum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lindum

Address: 1A Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lindum 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lindum is superbly situated right out on Hastings seafront, and has magnificent views of the beach and surrounding area, yet is just a hop and a skip from the centre of town for shopping, restaurants, and entertainment. This four star guest accommodation has twelve luxuriously appointed en-suite rooms, all with twenty inch televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers, direct dial phones, and room service. Each room has been beautifully dressed, to retain the character of the building, and the utmost care has been taken to create a relaxed and comfortable environment for guests to enjoy. Rooms at The Lindum range from single, double, and twin to penthouse; Many of the rooms have balconies with sea views, and all have en-suite bathrooms with lovely fluffy towels and a selection of toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Lindum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lindum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.