We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and unpretentious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jenny Lind Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jenny Lind Inn
Save
You added Jenny Lind Inn to your Saves list
69 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Hastings B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and unpretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a really lovely place to stay. My room was a good size, bigger than many rooms in more expensive places. The ensuite bath (with a tub) was also spacious and very clean. I was a little concerned at first as the live music in the pub below was quite loud but this finished by 6.30 so it wasn't a problem. Sarah was extremely helpful and friendly, and as mentioned in another review, they're very generous with the tea and coffee in the room. There's also a small fridge with free bottled water, a really nice touch. Great breakfast in The Land of Green Ginger cafe across the road which is included in the price. It's right in the centre of town but somehow not noisy. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review of The Jenny Lind Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have recognized how hard our staff work as a team to create the results that you found at The Jenny Lind Inn. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

After a few nights stay in Brighton we drove the scenic route back home to Cambs and always enjoy an afternoon in Hastings , whilst walking through the old town we spotted that the Jenny Lind was advertising ensuite rooms being available, and that this traditional inn amongst its range of real ales , live music also had bar billiards , strange reason I know but as many years ago I was a very keen bar billiards player and that the sport has all but disappeared from my home area (Cambs) and with no urgency to return home we decided on the spot to book in and spend the evening.
The young lady behind the bar who dealt with our booking in was excellent , our room at the top of the pub was clean , and very comfortable and with a fantastic view over the town and cliffs.
Breakfast we were informed was served from 07:30-11:30 in the small cafe opposite and they gave us the appropriate vouchers.

Well the real ales , of which I sampled a few were very well kept and keenly priced , bar billiards table one of the best I've played on , the staff and locals very welcoming and sociable , a good evening was enjoyed .
The breakfast in the morning was of a very high quality in clean comfortable surroundings.
If you find yourself in Hastings and are deduced by its charms then I can recommend this establishment and it is very good value £70 for a double room for our stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the Jenny Lind Inn. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your unplanned stay with us. If you are in the area again then KC and Linda, owners of the Jenny Lind Inn would love for you to get in contact and have a drink on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights at Christmas and found the staff very friendly and welcoming. The room was comfortable and when I asked for extra bedding, it appeared immediately. It is ideally situated in Hastings Old Town. Although the bar is busy, there was no problem with noise in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Jenny Lind Inn. It's good to see that we have people visiting us from around the world. The jenny Lind is in a perfect place for visitors to explore the many attractions that Hastings has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We often call in here for a brief drink, whilst walking around in Hastings Old town.

Bar staff always friendly and welcoming and although at times, the pub itself is very busy, there is never a problem in getting a drinks order in, as the bar staff always approach you if they see you need to be served.

Music is played at a sensible level, so you can still hold a conversation without having to shout. There is plenty of comfortable seating spread behind and in front of the bar area and at one end of this area, there are various board games and bookshelves for customers to help themselves to and entertain themselves whilst having a drink.

On each occasion we have called in here, we have experienced a warm, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere and will definitely continue to visit the Jenny Lind, each time we go into Hastings. Although a very busy pub, it is never overcrowded and is definitely not noisy.

We cannot comment on the hotel rooms located at the Jenny Lind, as we have never stayed in these, but if the pub itself is anything to go by, I'm sure they are very pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you have taken the time to write about how much you enjoy coming to the Jenny Lind Inn. We love it here, but are biased, so it is great to hear that others feel the same as us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed here for one night on Friday 1st November - we booked the family room, twin room, double room, and the single room. Between us, it came to £190 total (no breakfast), so about £30 each.

We were really impressed with the place: incredibly friendly staff (big shout to Sarah for arranging the whole stay - nice one) who gave us a good welcome when we arrived; the rooms are much better than most 'above-a-pub' rooms (spotless, decent size, modern, good showers, quiet, free chilled bottled water); great location in the heart of the old town; and a great boozer downstairs with decent ales and a lot going on. And all at a really good price.

Pretty hard to fault really - don't stay there expecting 400-thread Egyptian sheets and Moulton Brown soaps in the bathroom - but for very good, and brilliant value, above-a-pub accommodation, I would definitely recommend, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear your feedback and that you enjoyed staying with us. I will be sure to let our staff know your comments on how friendly they were. It seems as though you summed the Jenny Lind up nicely, with its position, great rooms and a great pub! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at The Jenny Lind in the hotel rooms from 4th-5th October. We had the family room because we have a young baby. The room was really spacious with a freeview TV and more tea, coffee and hot chocolate than we could have drunk - which was also replenished in the morning by the cleaner. We were also pleasantly surprised that they had a travel cot we could use which was really helpful. The double bed was really comfy.

There was a band on on the Friday we were there that was really good, and the pub had a good selection of beer and cider. There was a little bit of noise late at night but that was after the pub was closed.

The location in the old town was perfect for exploring hastings, and even with a bit of rain we didn't mind the walk along the coast to the new town. We also visited the aquarium which was good for our baby who really enjoyed it - although I think for bigger children might find it a bit small.

We'd definitely stay again when we return to Hastings.

Room Tip: Family room one was a great size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our close proximity to the old town is something that we our very proud of, it is a lovely place to explore as you seem to have discovered. We would love to have you stay with us again and with a future promotion for repeat guests we hope you decide to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at the Jenny Lind 15th-19th October. Staff and management very welcoming. Room clean and comfortable. Friday night in the pub was very good fun, with excellent live music. Specially thank you to ' nurse ' Sarah who cleaned the cut on my eye which resulted from tripping up steps ( stone cold sober...Honest !! ).Will thoroughly recommend the J L , and look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 2, slept well but be aware of delivery day !! ( Think that Thursday was the dray )
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Jenny Lind Inn, we hope that your cut healed nicely!!! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially as we are making improvements to the hotel including new carpets throughout, flat screen TVs and fridges in all rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon (although next time maybe without an injury).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jenny Lind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenny Lind Inn

Address: 69 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenny Lind Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.