We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly Inn with attention to detail and in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jenny Lind Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jenny Lind Inn
Save
You added Jenny Lind Inn to your Saves list
69 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Hastings B&B and Inns
Duncan, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“friendly Inn with attention to detail and in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Second time in Hastings but first time at the Jenny Lind.We were not disappointed.Our room was tremendously clean and welcoming with plentiful amenities.Our beds were so comfy and we slept tremendously well.. KC should be proud ,, I tried Hastings beer and definitely approved lager and beer prices are truly reasonable . We enjoyed the Friday night entertainment and listened to "The Cajun Dawgs,,", The place was packed and so much fun.
The inn has stopped serving meals but the breakfast at the "Green ginger cafe " was by far the best I have ever eaten .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we are glad that you decided to stay with us and we would love to see you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A great location in the centre of the old town. Friendly staff and a very relaxed atmosphere makes you feel very welcome. Our room was at the front of the Pub with great views towards the East Hill and railway up. Given that the pub is a period property who ever is doing the cleaning deserves a mention as our room was spotless. We looked around the old Antique shops and then 5 minutes walk in to the main town centre and on to the new trendy shops in St Leonards - Norman Road. The room rate included breakfast at the Green Ginger opposite which again was very nice and great to get veggie sausages.

Room Tip: Room 2 at the front had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we will let our cleaner know how pleased you were with her work! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Whenever we come to Hastings we always find ourselves in this pub. Never dissapointed, excellent service and a great atmosphere.Having recently lost our local pub its pleasing to see that there are still places like this left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Jenny Lind Inn, we pride ourselves on keeping the local Public House feel and are glad that you took the time to notice this. We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a little gem of a pub, which my wife and I discovered on our wedding anniversary break. Although we didn't stay here, it was the perfect retreat on a chilly afternoon to enjoy a few drinks by the heat of the log fire. The traditional decor, laid back, warm and inviting atmosphere and friendly chatty staff, provide the essential ingredients for a winning recipe. The biggest delight for me was the chance to quench my thirst with a few pints of 100% vegan ale from the local Hastings Brewery. Despite the cold, I suddenly felt like I had trekked across the desert, so these ales for me were particularly refreshing, satisfying and exceedingly quaffable, especially the Pale Ale! Well done to all the staff for making this watering hole an old favourite in the old town!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we are pleased to have a range of ales including guest ales that we think you'll love. Maybe next time you visit you would like to combine your visit with a stay at the Jenny Lind Inn?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The locals of Hastings, particularly the Old Town area love a good occassion to have a party. During May Day it's the Hastings Jack in the Green Festival and more recently in February or March, the Fat Tueday celebrations (aka Mardi Gras). I attended the later for the first time and stayed at the Jenny Lind Inn so that I could enjoy the evening with a few drinks and not worry about driving home.

The booking process was easy, I was given clear information about which doors to use to come in and out, particularly if I wanted to avoid going through the bar. The room itself was well decorated, clean and warm for a seaside February night. There was adeqaute space, the usual kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits and a bath/shower with plenty of hot water and complementary toiletries.

Breakfast is provided by the lovely cafe, The Ginger Jar, directly across the street from the pub. Open at 7.30AM, you present the voucher given to you by the Jenny Lind staff and a fresh, lovely breakfast is yours. In the evening there are numerous restaurants and eateries nearby from your basic fish & chips to more boutique/gourmet/wine bar meals...and everything in between. Hastings prides its self on good food.

The location is great for anything in the Old Town or sea front areas. However, be warned that parking isn't the easiest. Like Brighton, Hastings is really tight on their parking restrictions and you're very likely to be ticketed unless you use a proper pay & display car park. I suggest the one on The Bourne (A259) where you can walk through the alleyway straight to High Street and the Jenny Lind is just a few minuets walk to your left.

If you stay here during Fat Tuesday celbrations or the May Day/Jack In The Green weekend, expect the Jenny Lind pub to be active and buzzing with good friends, good music (there's a small stage) and good beers, often specially brewed by local breweries to celebrate the occassion. Of course this means that there will be pub noise until closing time but if you're there as part of the celebrations, this isn't much of a problem.

I have been at the Jenny Lind during times of no celebrations and you can't hear the pub from your room, so you'll get a good night's rest

The Managers at the Jenny Lind go all out to decorate the pub during these occassions. When I was there, the straff were all in carnival masks and costume and there were Mardi Gras beads strung everywhere.

And very reasonably priced!

So if you fancy a weekend in Hastings, close to what is best in food, music and Sussex Coast scenery I highly recommend the Jenny Lind

Room Tip: Rooms to the streetside may get early morning street sweeper noise, but the view towards the Downs i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for the review, we at the Jenny Lind Inn are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. A fantastic time was had by all during Fat Tuesday and we are pleased that you felt part of it. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed here twice in the last month and have found the Jenny Lind Inn to be a fine B & B in the middle of the Old Town. Even though both nights were busy Saturday nights on the High Street, the room was quiet as well as being clean and fresh. The bar itself is very relaxed with locals chatting away and no blaring jukeboxes - just low background music so you can really sit back and enjoy the atmosphere. The staff are very helpful & chatty. The breakfasts at the Green Ginger Cafe across the road are excellent indeed & the staff there are very friendly too. We will definitely come back. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for your review of The Jenny Lind Inn, we are pleased that you found us and enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watergrasshill, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We walked past this pub after having a meal, I saw the large selection of beers through the window and had to investigate!! The staff were very knowledgeable and recommended a pint of the local Hastings brewery, even letting me have a little sample first. I'd say this is a must for beer lovers in the old town or seafront areas of Hastings, and I'm just sad we found it on our last night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of The Jenny Lind Inn, we really love to hear the feedback. We pride ourselves on having a great range, so good news that you noticed this. We are also very proud to be serving local produce, glad you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jenny Lind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenny Lind Inn

Address: 69 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jenny Lind Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.