We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind and helpful hosts - clean and comfortable room and beds.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings to your Saves list
Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 51 Hastings B&B and Inns
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kind and helpful hosts - clean and comfortable room and beds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and were made to feel welcome and nothing seemed to be too much trouble (we are a high maintenance family!). We would stay again and recommend the hotel which is in a great location on the sea front with free secure parking nearby. The breakfast was good and extra tea/coffee offered. There is also a good northern Indian restaurant with excellent food a few doors from the hotel where we had a lovely good value meal. We would recommend it and stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    50
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
89
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

the room we had was lovely and clean with TV and tea and coffee facilities and the bed was very comfortable.
breakfast was yummy especially the eggs and a good portion size too.
there are plenty of places to go like the lift that goes up the mountain to the caves, there are also things to do in Hastings like crazy golf, plenty of shops and amusements for the children and adults. in the evening there are superb places to eat and drink.

We found Alexanders B&B friendly and a warm welcome stay.

Room Tip: you will always get a good room here with no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Noisy and Dirty are the words I would use to describe my stay at Alexander. Keith was rude when I mentioned the state of the bathroom. Would benefit from new management and a good scrub up. Breakfast sadly wasnt much better maybe I caught an off day but I wouldnt go back based on what I had experienced

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We booked for a one night stay in Alexanders as a break in our cross country tour.
We arranged for a 4 o'clock check in but due to a lot of traffic we were nearer 6o'clock check in. We phoned on route to warn of our delay but were cut off during the call and they phoned back to check which was a nice touch.

The B&B is right on the seafront and we were able to park right outside (no charge between 18:00 - 9:00)

We were shown to out family room which was with a sea view and a shared balcony (lockable!) The bathroom had recently been replaced and carpets had been newly laid and had that “new carpet smell,” Both of the beds had firm mattresses which we like and the room temperature was good.

On going out for dinner Keith (I think, sorry if that wasn’t your name!) advised us to walk down to the old town for good food, and we ate at the Alibi Turkish restaurant which was excellent (Warning most of the eateries only accept cash.)

Some of the other reviews complain about the noise but we were on the front on the first floor and have to say I wasn’t woken up by any noise.

Breakfast is served in the downstairs breakfast room, and I noticed on earlier reviews that some people complained about it only being served in a one hour window. Well if you want to eat breakfast late there are lots of cafes along the sea front and you’re not forced to eat here anyway.

The full English was very well cooked and was certainly worth getting up for.

Overall a very good seaside B & B and if we’re ever in the area again one I’d stay at.

By the way if you do have any complaints why not raise them with the owners first rather than waiting till after wards. I find that works really well.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Incredibly helpful and friendly staff, lovely room, which was well furnished, clean and a good size for the two of us. Breakfast was very nice, which arrived quickly and was cooked well. The hotel is set in a lovely location, directly opposite the beach meaning we had a great view of the sea front from our balcony. It is also only a couple of minutes walk from the town center, which had many reasonably priced cafes, other food outlets and stores. Very well priced for the quality of the room and service.

Liked best :- The helpful and friendly staff

Liked least :- Our stay wasn't long enough!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had a room with a beautiful sea view; the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the hosts made us feel really welcome. The free parking is a huge bonus as it's expensive in hastings. Location was great, right near shops, restaurants/bars and the beach, and the hosts pointed out events that were on as well as helping us scout some lost sunglasses from the previous night. We were really impressed with this place and think it's great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

4th visit, thoroughly enjoyed, owners friendly, beds comfortable. rooms newly decorated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings

Address: 2 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexanders Bed & Breakfast offers 12 spacious en-suite rooms overlooking Hastings seafront. The guest house is only minutes from Hastings town centre Hastings old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.