We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shearbarn Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shearbarn Holiday Park
Save
You added Shearbarn Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Barley Lane, Hastings TN35 5DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quite happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in many camping sites in our time, but was very impressed with the size and location of this site. Just a 15-20 minute walk to hastings itself. The site is quite big. One side for no electrics and the other side for hookups. We were sited next to the trees with electric hookup. Not very sunny in the morning. Also the squirrel in the trees likes to visit first thing, and if your not up, he'll take your rubbish and spread it around the site, making it look like its your mess, and yes, I did get a picture of the little blighter.
The only small problem I had was we originally booked for a non electric pitch. When we phoned we were told it was £2 per night and could pay this extra on arrival. When we arrived it was £3 per night extra. A little problem I know, but given the site was well maintained and clean, I shouldn't really complain.
The main thing I liked about the site was it was geared towards families. There wasn't any loud noise after 11pm (except the wife snoring) and the resident warden Noel was always on hand if there were any problems during the day.
All in all I'd say we had a good time. We left a day early because we didn't want to get caught in the London traffic on Monday during the Olympics, but that was our choice.

I would recommend this site.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass W, Customer Relations Manager at Shearbarn Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn camping site. We really appreciate all feedback as it helps to improve our service.
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you were given incorrect information in relation to the charges. This has been discussed with the team to ensure this does not happen again.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
55
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We all had a great time at shearbarn must point out we both dad and i did get stuck in the mud in are motorhomes but one call to reception two workers came up and towed us to are spot both very plesent the weather was bad plenty of rain but that wasnt a reel problem as you had plenty of entertainment and nice food at the bar also gym and pool we do have friends who live in hasting and they came to see us on site at no cost some sites charge but this site dosnt i will return as we did injoy are selfs and everyone bar staff security everyone were friendly and helpfull 10 out of 10 for very clean site
Thank you all

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shearbarn Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn after staying on our camp site. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the facilities available to you, we are only sorry we couldnt do anything about the weather for you!
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Just got back from a four day break staying in one of their lodges. Had a lovely time, lodge extremely clean & homely with all the amenities (except a bread knife!). Staff very friendly especially the pool staff, good entertainment in the evenings food basic but fine. Was disappointed with Hastings as a place but had a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shearbarn Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. We really appreciate all feedback as without this we cannot improve our service in the future.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your accommodation and are sorry that you did not have a bread knife. You do not mention whether you advised reception of this? All our accommodations should have this and reception would have been able to source one for you. In the meantime I have requested that all our accommodation is audited to ensure that it has everything it should have.
Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of your company on one of our parks in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

I wanted to stay for 2 week but it was too loud and I left after 7 days.
From early moring until late workers cut the grass all week, cant understand how is that possible at such not Big place ?
Hope its not like this the whole year because id like to come again to hastings its so beatiful

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shearbarn Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay, however I am slightly confused.
You mention within your review that you stayed in March 2012 and were booked for 2 weeks. We have had no bookings for either the holiday park in our lodges or on the camping ground for 2 weeks within March. In addition to this, no complaints have been received by reception regarding noise from any other customer and no one has approached us to request a refund for unused time. I am therefore concerned that firstly you have reviewed the correct location and if not why you have not brought it to anyones attention.
With both the camping field and the holiday park we do have a fiarly vast area which requires constant maintenance to keep us to our high standards, however we do not and have never cut grass all day every day. If you were staying in a lodge then we would certainly not be cutting the same area for a week and even in the camping field we would be moving around. We also do not start work early nor continue late.
Should you wish to discuss this further, please send me a private message with your details and I will contact you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We camped here with the children for 4 nights in the summer and was v lucky with the weather (which made it all that more perfect!) The loo's were clean And we enjoyed the country walks around the site. There is a great play area for the children. And lovely swimming pool on site too! We brought our little dog who also enjoyed being with us on our little camp. 1 of the nights though we found we were bombarded with about 10 foxes and 1 badger round our tent- to no fault of our own lol we didn't realise the dog didn't Finnish her dinner. But we can laugh about this (at the end of the day we were out with nature lol) Thoroughly enjoyed our camping experience and are looking to coming bk in the near future! :D

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shearbarn Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. It is always pleasing to read that our customers have enjoyed their time with us. I hope we have the pleasure of your custom again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights camping in August, access road to site was a bit narrow but was ok. Camping field(non-electric hookup) was lovely, lots of space, you could choose your pitch, although we did see a few people who had 'spread themselves out' and were taking up a ridiculous amount of room. Security would walk around the park all day, facilities were good, lovely warm shower, lots of loo's and very pleasant. The only thing we'd change was the weather that weekend, rain and thunderstorms! Clubhouse was good also, prices ok and food good.

Room Tip: Hedges running the whole way round the field, tended to be nice and sheltered there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shearbarn Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn camping site. We really appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We've just had a weekend break at Shearbarn, and would concur with all the preceding positive reviews. The missus has said several times she wans to return to Hastings - but only if we stay at Shearbarn again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaulfrynMarketing, Customer Relations Manager at Shearbarn Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Shearbarn. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shearbarn Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearbarn Holiday Park

Address: Barley Lane, Hastings TN35 5DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hastings
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearbarn Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the perfect holiday Shearbarn offers something for everyone. Our guests return year after year, to explore the majestic cliffs and beaches, to explore the shops, cafes and bars in Hastings Old Town, and to enjoy the dramatic and rich history of 1066 Country. All of our holiday homes are designed and built to the highest specification by the UK's leading manufacturers and are available to you in an array of styles, sizes and layouts. State of the art features, the highest quality fixtures and fittings and sumptuous furnishings are standard in all of our holiday homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shearbarn Holiday Park Hotel Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shearbarn Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.