We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bannatyne Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bannatyne Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Battle Road, Hastings TN38 8EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A pleasent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Food was good four star dining and staff were helpfull and polite. Spa was a few minutes walk from hotel but not a big problem.Some of the carpets are coming to the end of their lives. Would use again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Roger I,

Thank you for placing your kind comments on Trip Advisor.

I will pass on your comments to the whole team, that you found the staff helpful and the food good.

On behalf of myself and helpful and polite team at the Bannatyne Spa Hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes,

Jamieson Berriman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    144
    58
    33
    22
See reviews for
70
211
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was lovely and room good. The staff were friendly and I had some spa treatments, again good. However there was no fridge in the room, the pillows were terrible and also we were not impressed with the food. We both had prawns which were dry and then I had gnoche and my husband haddock balls, both of which were very dry. I left most of mine. Do not normally complain, but had to say something.

We will not be investing again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Jane W,

Thank you for placing your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you found the hotel to be so lovely and the room good.

Please note we do not have fridges in all our rooms types, and alternative pillows options can be supplied on request.

I am sorry that you very not impressed with the food on this occasion, we would have been very pleased to exchange the food if required at the time.

On behalf of myself and the friendly team at the Bannatyne Spa Hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes,

Jamieson Berriman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just back from a nice weekend break, stayed Sat and Sunday nights, nice food, nice room and a nice spa, down sides, the spa is a 5 min walk through the car park, fine in the sun but not so much fun in the rain, also the Spa is also a gym with outside members, it can get very busy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Keith01444,

Thank you for placing your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had the nice weekend break at the hotel

I will pass on your comments to our teams at both the Hotel and Spa.

On behalf of myself and the team at the Bannatyne Spa Hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes,

Jamieson Berriman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked the 2 night spa break as a treat for my fiancé who was in desperate need of a break.
We arrived and booking in was seemless & the receptionist explained all our prebooked meals & treatments.
Room : no 26 was beautiful and soo big. Very clean, well appointed with a lovely bath room, tea & coffee, mineral water. Big flat screen TV . Bathrobes & slippers.
We felt very special lol
Food : we ate in the conservatory on the 1 st night & the food was amazing !!! Beautifully presented and service attentive but not overbearing ! One tip just bear in mind a bottle of water will set u back £4.95 ... Bit steep :-(
2 nd night we ate in the terrace bar, was slightly disappointed that the cocktail menu only has 4 cocktails ?!? Bar food was lovely and good size portions.
We also enjoyed our afternoon tea in the terrace bar very nice treat !
Spa : nice staff, good range of treatments. We had a swedish massage & facial and both were very good !
Great swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room & sauna. All well maintained & clean !!!!
Do use the relaxation room it was a lovely treat to have a snooze in heated supportive beds !!!
All in all it was just what we needed. We felt that the hotel was wonderful , the staff friendly and the spa break was good value.
We will definitely be booking a spa break again !!!!
Thank you for a wonderful relaxing stay !!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear madtabby71,

Thank you for placing your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a two night spa break at the hotel, and enjoyed our great rooms and facilities on offer.

I am very pleased that you found the food to be amazing in the Conservatory restaurant. Please note we are currently training our bar team on a new cocktail list, however still offering four great classics cocktail.

I will pass on your comments to our teams at both the Hotel and Spa.

On behalf of myself and the nice team at the Bannatyne Spa Hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes,

Jamieson Berriman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The check-in was exceptionally poor, we arrived in the morning, only one young girl on reception desk, completely preoccupied with computer screen. Waited for five minutes until she addressed us. They really need more "front of house" staff. We were told that the rooms would not be ready until 3.00 pm. So we went out to see the sights and left suitcases in reception. Returned early evening, to find the same young woman on the 'phone! Waited and waited, finally she came off the 'phone and eventually we got keys, had to take our own suitcases up to rooms.

The bedroom carpets stained, a piece of plastic beneath the desk - so carpet hadn't been hoovered, the bed linen had a tear, the bathroom tiles had small areas of mould, paintwork very poor and bedroom had once fashionable 1990s grey walls, ghastly green and brown patterned flock curtain fabric. The mattresses had no protective mattress covers beneath the sheets, which would allow them to be washed. No mirror over a dressing table to sit at for the ladies. Have to say that generally the rooms are "tired". They are large rooms and could be better with a little more attention to detail.

However, the young staff were very pleasant and tried to please. The breakfast was excellent and the gardens and conservatory lovely. The bar was chic and the main rooms very attractive.....but fake flowers everywhere.

A large framed print of The Beatles in the ground floor bar area had an LP record which had slipped out of its mount - easily fixed but no one had bothered. Just needs better management.

Lovely swimming pool, beautiful gardens to sit in the sun, tennis courts, golf etc. Good location. Large spa, excellent facilities.

- Hope they get the bedroom issues sorted out as we would all like to go again.

Room Tip: The nicer room was at the back overlooking the garden in what was clearly the original house. Larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Car0line1955,

Thank you for placing your comments on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you gave us 4 stars after your recent stay.

I will pass on your comments to the team, that you found them pleasant and tried to please.

I must apologise that you were kept waiting at reception and that we did not offer to take your luggage; this isn't typical, usually we pride ourselves on high standards of service.

We are sorry that you didn’t comment to us directly while at the hotel or during the departure, however we have reacted to your constructive input and please note, the issues reported have now been addressed and are fully resolved.

On behalf of myself and the team at the Bannatyne Spa Hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes,

Jamieson Berriman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This location was perfect for our wedding. Not only was the service we received from Jo and Monica second to none, from the outset, but the hotel and gardens are beautiful.
We had no hesitation whatsoever that this was the perfect venue for us, when we were looking around.

Jo & Monica were very thorough in making sure that everything we required and needed was going to be no trouble and we would have nothing to worry about as they ensured us it would all run smoothly and we were to enjoy our day.

The night before my daughter and i stayed at the hotel and we had a beautiful executive room with plenty of space for the hair dressers, make up artist and photographer to come in on the morning of the wedding and most importantly for us to get ready. Firstly we went down for breakfast in the conservatory which was delicious with plenty of choice and beautiful garden views. Monica had arranged late checkout for us as it was an afternoon wedding and also for a member of staff to take all of our things to the car on checkout as that would of been very difficult in a wedding dress!! This was very much appreciated as it was also raining!! Nothing was too much trouble.

Our evening reception celebrations were held in the Montgomerie Suite, which is a grand venue and certainly has that WOW factor from the moment you walk through the first double doors into the foyer. The bar is located in the foyer and not expensive which is a bonus as the do not feel the need to over charge guests. The suite is stunning with chandeliers and a dance floor with flashing twinkle lights.

We had an amazing buffet for our guests to enjoy, the food was excellent and the staff over seeing this were superb.
The staff all evening were superb and helpful and again nothing was too much trouble, Marco our evening coordinator was excellent and really worked with us to ensure everything run smoothly. Which is exactly what happened. They even helped my aunt who surprised me by arranging to have wifi so that my mum who lives in Australia could speak to me on Skype. You just couldn't as for more.

We would like to say a Massive Thank you to all of the staff for their outstanding service and for making our wedding celebrations PERFECT!!

Many thanks
Andrea & NIck

Room Tip: The big mirror in the hall at the top of the stairs is amazing for photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear aabwilliams,

Thank you for placing your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had the perfect Valentine wedding at the Bannatyne Spa Hotel. I was pleased that you were able to utilise the beautiful grounds, and enjoyed the Grand Montgomerie Suite.

I will pass on your comments to the whole team, that you found the service so well organised and buffet amazing.

On behalf of myself and the superb and helpful team at the Bannatyne Spa Hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes,

Jamieson Berriman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I got married here in early October 2013 and we couldn't have been happier with the whole day! We had stayed here before and the wedding venue is stunning so it was an easy choice to have our wedding here. We organised it from Brighton and it was really easy to do. On the day, all the staff were amazing, very attentive, professional and personable...all ensuring the day was memorable. The venue looked amazing (the hotel have a good network of suppliers and we chose a few of our own), the food was delicious and the backdrop for photos were stunning. Throughout the organisation of the day it was easy, we particularly enjoyed the tasting session and we were able to fly an Australian flag out from for the bride and her friends and family! There were so many people from Bannatynes that made the day special so apologies to those whose names we haven't mentioned but thanks to Monica, Marco and Andrew. See you all soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Ipswich_fan,

Thank you for placing your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you and your wife got married at the Bannatyne Spa Hotel in October.

I will pass on your comments to the whole team, that you could not have had a happier day.

On behalf of myself and the amazing, attentive and professional team at the Bannatyne Spa Hotel, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes,

Jamieson Berriman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bannatyne Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Spa Hotel

Address: Battle Road, Hastings TN38 8EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Spa Hotel Hastings. All 38 rooms are en-suite and many overlook the colourful formal gardens. Every guest enjoys complimentary access to Bannatyne's Health Club and all rooms have free WiFi internet access. The Bannatyne Spa is ideal for bringing that little extra to your stay or relaxing after a hard day at the office. Our team will help you escape, rejuvenate and harmonise body and soul, to cleanse you of everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bannatyne Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne Hotel Hastings
Bannatyne Spa Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bannatyne Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.