We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business meeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bannatyne Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bannatyne Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Battle Road, Hastings TN38 8EA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great for business meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We used the Board room at the hotel which was great for about 15 people, the service at the hotel is superb I arrived early and within 10 minutes had Lunch and some cold water. the staff dealt well with various requests during the meeting - the grounds here are fantastic

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Andy K

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and deliver such prompt service.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon?

Kind regards
Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    153
    63
    34
    23
See reviews for
75
234
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Booking this hotel as a couples get away, travellers will not be disappointed. Due to the location you need a car or taxi to get into Hastings itself or to Battle which is approximately a mile away. This means that you feel completely secluded and away from it all.
The hotel is set in lovely grounds with tennis courts, a riding school and a pitch and putt golf course for extra charge.
The hotel itself is a little drab and the carpets are well worn however the reception staff were attentive and helpful. A little miffed at the £3.50 'trade charge' to order anything from room service, some of the cheaper items on the menu cost less than that.

It is a short 2 minute walk from the hotel itself to the spa and gym facilities which are in a separate building, a little annoying if it is raining. If you are using the gym, you won't be disappointed with the equipment it is all modern and your stay even allows you to attend the classes being run. It has a 20m swimming pool, outdoor jacuzzi, large indoor jacuzzi and a sauna and steam room.
You are sharing these facilities with Bannatyne gym membership holders.

Although booked as a spa break we were unable to use the facilities as it was fully booked on the dates we travelled which was frustrating but did not ruin our stay.

We stayed for dinner at the hotel and are glad we did, the food was beautiful. 2 or 3 courses for a set price (about £26.95 for 3) and everything was cooked beautifully and presented as you would expect from a high class restaurant.

We upgraded to an executive room which was incredibly spacious both for the sleeping quarters and the bathroom, with 'his and hers' basins. The shower was powerful and the room spotlessly clean. A wedding party was staying at the hotel during our one night stay, but we did not hear a thing from our room. The bed was most comfortable.
Our room had tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and board, safe and hairdryer.
The hotel also has free Wifi access.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and will return if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive Room for more spacious sleeping quarters. Book spa treatments early to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Emma N

Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and your particular feedback regarding the food, gym facilities and your executive bedroom is greatly appreciated.

We have an on going maintenance programme in place and confident that your see some improvements to our public areas upon your return visit?

Kind regards

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We popped in for a drink here a month or so ago. We were not dissapointed with the choice or drinks in the bar or the cost which is reasonable. There were a few issues which we would like to bring to the managers attention - the TV in the bar was very loud and the cables were hanging the back which is most unattractive to look at, also all of the tables were sticky from other drinks and the supposedly once electric green chairs had gone more of a grey colour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear dell470

Thank you for your recent review, I'm pleased you enjoyed our extensive product range in the bar. We will continue to monitor the TV volume, in addition we have just began a table refurbishment of all our tables in the bar area.

Look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked a spa weekend here through Secret Escapes. It was our first ever spa weekend.
The hotel was fabulous. We were checked in very quickly and our bags were taken up to the room for us whilst we had lunch. [Thank you to the manager for this!]
The room was much bigger than we expected. The bed was extremely comfy and we both had a brilliant night sleep. The bathroom was also very large.
The only tiny niggle that we had with the room was that the tv kept flickering, which made my boyfriend quite irritable [not what you want on a relaxing break!]

We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel. The breakfast buffet was really tasty and plenty of different foods to choose from. The lunch was brilliant. Strongly recommend the spinach and ricotta pasta.
However dinner was certainly by far the best meal. The fillet steak was cooked to perfection and was definitely the best steak i've ever eaten. Throughly enjoyed the meal and the waiting staff for all 3 meals were very efficient and friendly. Prices were very reasonable as well.
We had a few drinks in the terrace bar which was nice and looked out over the gardens. We also managed to sit out in the garden for a little while [was still a bit too cold] and the chair/beds that are in the garden are a really lovely idea.

With our package we were entitled to a back/neck/shoulder massage at the spa.
The spa is located a short walk away from the hotel, unfortunately through a car park which we hadnt expected. I didnt particualrly like the idea of walking thorugh the car park in my dressing gown!
The spa itself was really nice. Smaller than imagined but the staff were lovely and showed us around the different parts.
The massage was good. they took into account the fact i have a dodgy shoulder so were careful with that. The swimming pool/sauna/jacuzzi in the spa were all really good.
It wasnt too busy so it felt very relaxed and chilled out.

Overall, we had a fabulous weekend away and would definitely return to the hotel, but probably give the spa a miss.

Room Tip: We had room 38 which overlooked the front of the hotel. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear 19Jess88

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your time with us, and that we are able to cater for your specific requirements during your treatments.

Our apologies for the faulty television, this has been resolved so room 38 can be visited again by you sometime soon?

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Regards
Andrew Boon
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and the spa and gym seem nice. The building and surrounding grounds are peaceful and gorgeous. When you step inside -the hotel lets you down as soon as you climb the steps. The bed was so uncomfortable, the bathroom was a bit moldy in the corner, The bedding feels cheap. I am only outlining these details because Bannatyne has really let guests down by not caring to pay attention to comfort details. They clearly cut corners and that is NOT what this hotel looks like it will deliver as you arrive. Such a shame as I really expected more. I did have a fabulous time because I was with friends, and my dogs were welcome!

Room Tip: Beds are really uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear mle_webb

Many thanks for your recent review and I am delighted to hear that you had a fabulous time with friends despite the issues which you have raised.

I would have welcomed the opportunity to speak with you during your stay and had we been given the opportunity, perhaps could have arranged a room move. Unfortunately, I was not aware of any problems until after your departure.

I do hope you get the opportunity to return to us in the future.

Kind regards

Mark O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have always found banatynes to be very good considering the amount of clientele the therapists have to treat every day some of whom are very rude, demanding a harder pressure is fine but the therapist can only be as firm as she can when in fact the pressure should not be really firm if you would like anything firmer you need to book in for a SPORTS MASSAGE not A SWEDISH MASSAGE as advertised in a lot of the cheap spa breaks you get at banatynes. I think clients should be less concerned with demanding things and more interested in enjoying their cheap spa day and RELAXING not snapping at the therapists.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I booked a spa weekend away for my long suffering wife and myself for a weekend of pampering and indulgence.
We booked the accomodation online with a view to enjoying the spa facilities and treatments upon arrival.
At check in on fri afternoon we ventured over to the health club and spa, only to be told that all treatments were fully booked on saturday and just managed to book a single treatment for the wife on sunday morning . . .
I attempted to book a mens treatment at the same time, only to be told that the wife had booked the only slot available.
As much as i appreciate that such a popular place would be busy, at the time of booking " a spa hotel weekend" i would have appreciated some advanced warning about the need to pre book any spa treatments.
Anyway, treatment time arrives, Mrs F pops across for her hour of spoiling . . . . to be told that whoever made the booking must have double booked.
No treatment available. . She was very very disappointed.
We have been fortunate enough to visit various other "Spa hotels "across Europe and have always enjoyed the experience and facilities, hence the Bannatyne Spa booking.
The hotel was beautiful, the room was excellent, as was the food. Staff were great, very friendly and attentive.It's a terrible shame that we had expected a spa weekend and not just a hotel stay.
This place should be advertised as a hotel with a neighbouring spa and certainly not a spa hotel.
Not Happy, Not returning and not recommending.
Pat & Denise Foley.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is beautiful. . Go on . . . . Indulge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Pat F

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your hotel stay but am sorry to hear of the issues rergarding booking spa treatments.

To avoid disappointment, it is recomended that spa treatments are booked in advance. It is our policy to advise guests of this when booking and please accept my apologies if this advise was not relayed to you at the time of booking. I have passed your comments regarding the treatment double booking to the health club general manager and she asked me to convey her apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I am delighted that you found the hotel staff to be great, friendly and attentive and that the food and room were both excellent.

It is a shame that you would not consider returning, however if you decided to do so, I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind rergards

Mark O'Reilly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bannatyne Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Spa Hotel

Address: Battle Road, Hastings TN38 8EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bannatyne Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a unique blend of luxury accommodation, great service and fine dining with Bannatyne Spa Hotel Hastings. All 38 rooms are en-suite and many overlook the colourful formal gardens. Every guest enjoys complimentary access to Bannatyne's Health Club and all rooms have free WiFi internet access. The Bannatyne Spa is ideal for bringing that little extra to your stay or relaxing after a hard day at the office. Our team will help you escape, rejuvenate and harmonise body and soul, to cleanse you of everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bannatyne Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannatyne Hotel Hastings
Bannatyne Spa Hastings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bannatyne Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.