We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly and well situated in the old part of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallery 53

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gallery 53
Save
You added Gallery 53 to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 51 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redhill, Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly and well situated in the old part of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here with my son and daughter in Gallery 53's family room. My son was on the sofa bed.
Jane was friendly and made us feel very welcome.
Although the room was above the owners' art gallery on the street, we were not troubled by noise. It was especially nice to have breakfast at the table in the bay window of our room and watch the world go by.
The separate bathroom was lovely and clean and although not en-suite, was next door. Our area was curtained off, so there were no worries about being seen in your nightwear by anyone else!
Altogether recommended for a family stay - a nice big room. Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
41
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Jane and David are wonderful, relaxed hosts. They bring the most delicious breakfast to your bedroom which is tastefully decorated and feels as if you're staying with the family. I wouldn't stay anywhere else, given the chance
Neil

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The room was very comfortable with a super full English breakfast. Hosts extremely pleasant and very helpful. The area was absolutely central, walked everywhere. Close to all the resturants and pubs. The bathroom is a definite talking point, super 4 legged

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of our favourite places to stay because Jane and David the hosts are lovely and so is George the cat. The location is right in the middle of old Hastings town opposite the beautiful St Clement's Church so everything is within an easy walk, the county park, shopping, pubs, amusements, museum and attractions. The old town is just so quaint with buildings going back hundreds of years, the little alleyways "twittens" and many independent shops offering unique treasures. Then there are the filming locations to explore for Foyles War. A lovely cooked breakfast is brought to your room each morning and you can sit at the Bay Window and watch the world go by - it's lovely. A visit to Hastings Old Town and you just want to move there because it is so beautiful and the pace of life seems a little slower and more relaxed. We go back each year and always stay at Gallery 53. There is the added bonus of the pictures all around the building and in the shop all by produced by the talented owners themselves - it's just perfect!

Room Tip: We always stay in the Red Room on the First Floor and watch the world go by from the Bay Window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Run by very friendly people, very accommodating, lovely room, great breakfast and uber friendly cat! Great value. Parking a mini pain but park up the hill of road opposite the Gallery 53 - not as far away as it looks.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, South Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed one night at Gallery 53. They have two rooms, we used the larger room, which can be used as a family room. The room was spacious and very comfortable, easily accomodating a sofa and a small dining table in the window without feeling at all crowded. Room felt fresh, individual, lots of artwork (the downstairs is a family art gallery). En-suite (actually accessed via a short, private corridor rather than opening straight into the room), was excellent, large and rather dramatic, with a free-standing roll top bath and a separate shower cubicle. Shower worked well, no pressure or temperature fluctuation problems whilst we were using it. Robes provided, clean and very snuggly.
For light sleepers, the inevitable sea-side gulls mean that you may be disturbed early, that's the price of staying somewhere with personality rather than a sealed double-glazed box. Similarly, there is a certain amount of noise from the street, but during our stay it was all very intermittent, and we got plenty of sleep nonetheless.
Breakfast is chosen the night before, and delivered, freshly cooked, to the room. We enjoyed watching passing dog walkers in the street below as we ate.
The hosts were very welcoming, friendly and thoughtful, without being in any way intrusive.
We will hopefully be staying again next time we want to overnight in Hastings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked at short notice for a weekend break in Hastings. We were not disappointed with our choice of Gallery 53. Located right in the heart of the Old Town and run by a most friendly and welcoming family (including a gorgeous cat). The place is the polar opposite of the standard budget hotels - individually furnished and spacious rooms, hugh bathrooms, great breakfast and the added bonus of an art gallery on the ground floor housing the artwork produced by the proprietors. Would reccommend to anyone and we fully intend to return again. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallery 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery 53

Address: 53 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery 53 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Art Gallery and Bed & Breakfast. I have just 2 rooms and they are both comfortable and allow our guests to completely relax with breakfast times flexible and breakfast served in the room for maximum relaxation.We have one room which is suitable for a family with a medium size sofa bed in the room, the other is a standard double and has the benefit of an en-suite bathroom.We are a family of artists with regularly four of us showing our work at all times, with styles ranging from oil paintings of rural and street scenes to a good size range of imaginative abstracts in oil and acrylic. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallery 53, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.