We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Parade | St. Leonard's on Sea, Hastings TN38 0DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Belgique
1 review
“A pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I have stayed nearly 2 months at the Grand Hotel and I enjoyed it.

The owner care about his guests and ensure that everyone enjoys their stay. He is a very welcoming man, convivial host.

My room was comfortable, the bathroom a bit small but every towel is changed every day. The breakfast was fine with a large choice (tea, toasts, cereals and full English breakfast).

The Grand Hotel is ideally situated 5 minutes far from the station, to bus stops and very
convenient to nice restaurants.

It was good value for money and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    4
    21
See reviews for
10
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Arrived at the hotel, looked okay, but when we got to the door you had to knock, ring the bell (probably about 5 times) and knock again before the strange hotel owner opened it. We got in and had to wait for about an hour until he would see us. The ''front desk'' was on the landing of the stairs and you could barely move. The man who owned the place wasn't very bright and kept asking my daughters lots of personal questions. We booked for a large family size room, instead we had a small room with a bunk bed (for my two teenage girls!) and a double bed for me and my husband, we were all crammed into one tiny room. There was an en suite but it was very small and without a mirror, was also incredibly loud and dirty. After one night of staying there we decided to leave the next day and find somewhere else to stay. When we got to the front desk we asked if we could have a refund because we wasn't happy with our stay. He refused to refund us and asked us to leave immediately. Not happy at all and would advise anyone looking to stay at 'The Grand Hotel' not to, as it is a complete rip off and not worth the money we paid for!

Room Tip: Rooms are disgusting and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hotel if you call it that is terrible,we booked in for 7 nights as we were working on site nearby after 4 days of no heating & hot water.
With no sight of the mad owner fixing things after constantly asking we moved to another hotel
which cost us another £180.
To date we have not had any refund or feedback!!!!!
Do yourself a favour give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011 via mobile

This year is the third in a row that I have stayed there, 3 times in 3 years must say how much I like the hotel, very convenient to the best Chinese food I have ever tasted, bus stop at the door. Adequate brekky, convivial host and within walking distance to everything, and I am hard to please Nov2011 Geoff qld aid..

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We arrived and from the outside the hotel looks fine, after all it is situated just on the beachside. Inside the hotel looks very outdated and more like a bed and breakfast with a very narrow stairs upwards. The owner cheated us about the room. We had booked a family room with 4 beds, but he said we booked the smaller room with bunk beds (even though you can see from the amount paid that we paid for the larger family room!). The room was very small, the toilet made a lot of noise and there wasn't even a mirror. The towels were A4 size. We were laughing when we read the reviews, we should have read them beforehand as they are all very recognisable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I was a little disappointed when arriving at the Grand Hotel, the outside looks like a regular B&B, much like all the others along the main promenade. The entrance hall is pretty standard too but when we were showed to our room (room 23) which is the room at the front of the property I was so pleasantly surprised! The room was very spacious and the bathroom was spotless....the bathroom has obviously been reburished recently and was done to a very high standard, I've stayed in 5* hotels with bathrooms worse than this! Peter the owner is a little 'gem', yes he has his 'ways' but generally that is to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay, he hates smoking on the front step because the smell comes back into the hotel and he doesn't want to upset the other guests. We found the owner to be a very welcoming man who was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Looked at room and hated it, came back to say we wouldnt be staying there and he would not refund our money even though we were there only 5 minutes!!! Disgusting CON man....shouldnt be allowed to trade as a business...DO NOT stay there!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Parade | St. Leonard's on Sea, Hastings TN38 0DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.