We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, friendly hostess” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower House 1066

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tower House 1066 to your Saves list
Tower House 1066
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   28 Tower Rd West, Hastings TN38 ORG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 Hastings B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely clean room.

Relaxed about check-out times.

Honesty bar.

Decent all round.

I note that the hotel is up for sale - I hope that the next owner keeps the present inucmbents relaxed and welcoming style.

Room Tip: The four poster bed room was cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
44
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This privately owned hotel is in St Leonards a shortish walk from the centre
Of town in a quiet street.
It is a lovely quiet hotel, complete with garden views and a beautiful cat.
Louise went out of her way to ensure my stay was relaxed and my breakfast was just lovely.
A welcome break from the hustle and bustle of larger, noisy hotels

Room Tip: Any room but probably facing back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed last weekend with my husband. Will most definitely return again. We left feeling totally chilled and looked after. We found Louse and staff to be really friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and well equipped. We really enjoyed the breakfast, hubby enjoyed having biker chats with the chef.

Cheers everyone at the Tower

Alison & John Barclay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for one night. Partner is from St Leonards and for various reasons we needed a room for one night. Location ok - 10-15 min walk from St Leonards Warrior Square station, short car ride into Hastings centre.

'Enjoy England' gives the B&B a 4* rating. As we were concerned it deserved three stars - there is nothing special enough to give it four.

Rung buzzer twice for woman to come and open door (no idea who she was). She opened reception and checked us in. Had she taken us to a room up the staircase which is next to reception, maybe our stay would have been better. Instead, she gave us a ring with four (yes, four) keys on it, and took us through the house, through the conservatory, through the garden and into what had obviously been a garage previously - with an unexplained catflap!

Every time we went out or came in, we had to look and unlock three or four doors and walk through the garden!

Room was bog-standard, bed was comfortable. Cobwebs very obvious, carpets and accessories functional but tired & worn.

Breakfast room and conservatory looked nice - nowhere to get a drink of water though, and no glass in the room. No staff presence at all. Garden itself very pretty.

Overall acceptable but wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 12 - it's the old garage at the side of the house! (You have to go outside to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I read lots of good reviews on this 4 star rated hotel before booking. Although there was nothing really very wrong with this place I did not think that it deserved a 4 star. I have stayed in other hotels that are only rated 3 stars which I found better.
When we arrived there was no one to great us, infact our keys had been left in an enveloped pinned to the front door. We were only staying for 2 nights and only saw the owner on the last morning for breakfast as we needed to pay the bill.
The hotel was also advertised as having a bar but this was what was classed as an honesty bar, help your self and make a note of what you had pay later. Definitley not the social experience I was expecting.
The two other things that let it down for us was the breakfast room felt very cramped and we had the 4 poster and the mattres was so hard I did not get much sleep for the 2 nights so left feeling like I needed another holiday. If you like a hard mattress great if not pick another room.

Room Tip: front rooms can be noisy if you need to sleep with the window open as the road is used as a cut thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just came back from a one night stay here and we were very impressed. Proprietor was very welcoming. Rooms were well decorated and equipped and clean. Beds were comfortable and bed linen lovely. Breakfast very good. Altogether very impressed, if we are in Hastings again we will certianally stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This B&B is everything you need for a weekend away or short break. We arrived late on friday night but i phoned in advance to check this would be okay and it was. We had no trouble finding it or walking the short distance from the rail station. The room itself was beautiful, clean and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean. There was also a selection of tea and coffee and a t.v. But we didn't use it.

The en-suite bathroom was down a set of steps almost like a little alcove, which was so charming. There were toiletries and towels available in the bathroom. Our room looked over the stunning views of the garden and was quiet so we slept well.

All in all i think its perfect for a weekend away, within walking distance to everything and has a very friendly atmosphere. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tower House 1066? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House 1066

Address: 28 Tower Rd West, Hastings TN38 ORG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower House 1066 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower House 1066: when you need to escape your battles. Tower House 1066 provides elegant guest accommodation in St Leonards on sea. We provide a personalized service to make your stay a real home away from home, while giving you the privacy you need to unwind. Bask in the evening sun on the garden terrace or sit in our handmade gazebo in the shade. Sip a drink in our licensed bar, or simply retreat to your comfortable, welcoming bedroom of our St Leonards guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tower House 1066 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower House 1066, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.