We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riddle and Finns

Riddle and Finns
Arch 139, Brighton bn1 1hb, England
01273 821 218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 821 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $99
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Now open on the beachfront – Riddle & Finns II is the sister restaurant to the highly acclaimed Riddle & Finns in The Lanes.
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was our first visit to this restaurant and we loved it. Very friendly and welcoming and because it was so busy we opt for a call when a table became available and went for a drink of which a call came through pretty quick (very good process)
The service was spot on, the waitress being very knowledgeable and friendly but very professional. The food at this restaurant is divine, it was fresh, beautiful in taste and in my opinion worth every penny. We had a lovely little table on the beach and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We will be definitely coming back. wonderful little seafood restaurant indeed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    229
    55
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yorkshire foodies well impressed!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

On an unplanned trip to Brighton we came across this fantastic seafood/fish bar. Nigel welcomed us like long lost friends and this was only surpassed by the food, especially the mussels in chilli and ginger,which were exceptional. The friendly service throughout and the lively vibe of the restaurant made for a very enjoyable lunch. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Sunny evenings on the beach are made special when the restaurant is great - and it was! Here with the family, lucky enough to be served by Freya and had a great time. I started with monkfish tempura then had a very tasty shellfish risotto but the shared desserts were just wonderful (a bit of everything for 2 people). Others in the group loved the catch of the day and gurnard. Delicious samphire added to the seaside atmosphere. Given that we started with champagne a total bill of £50/head was also very good value

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great staff, good atmosphere but not good value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Always wanted to try this place as me and my wife love seafood. Lovely night so choose to sit at outside table. Very pleasant staff, well looked after. Some bread and dips arrived, very nice, need I say dangerous bread. Easily scoffed. Then I had some razor clams, bit tough, 3/5. Wife had Squid with chorizo, not that good, same again 3/5. Had some oysters, no scottish which I prefer, out of season, went for Irish, bit on the small and salty side, but with some cracking toppings, 4/5. Had haddock with colcannon, absolute delightful, 5/5. Wife had the crab, which she liked but didn't love, 4/5. All downed with a couple of beers and a bottle of Prosecco. Had a couple of Irish coffees to finish instead of dessert. All in all the food was average, lovely atmosphere down on the beach, but not good value for money, lovely weather. But after paying all for £150 I think I could have got better for locally for a lot less. Won't be back until I save up a bit more money and the food improves.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice fish house in the Lanes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Good selection of fresh oysters and fish simply but well prepared. Service was lovely. One of the highlights of our trip.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riddle and Finns also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Riddle and Finns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riddle and Finns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.