We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riddle and Finns

Riddle and Finns
Arch 139, Brighton bn1 1hb, England
01273 821 218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 872 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $40 - $99
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Now open on the beachfront – Riddle & Finns II is the sister restaurant to the highly acclaimed Riddle & Finns in The Lanes.Overlooking the beach & directly across the road from the Brighton Centre the restaurant offers the same selection of classic seafood dishes made from the freshest ingredients with the addition of some meat dishes for the non pescetarians.An al fresco terrace seats up to 40 guests while the restaurant itself seats 55, with a private dining room seating up to 10 covers, the new addition is the perfect place to enjoy a glass or two of bubbly with some freshly shucked oysters or a celebratory seafood banquet.Unlike the original Lanes restaurant the new beachfront branch does accept reservations & is available to hire for parties & corporate functions.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

great food, attentive and fun staff and friendly fellow diners all made for a lovely evening. it was raining constantly outside but candles made it cosy inside

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    202
    52
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best fish restaurant ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

if you love fish it's a must! My partner and I ate here to celebrate my birthday. The food was just amazing. Staff were very helpful and attentive. We had a fantastic time!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best seafood for ages. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were delighted to find space as we had previously had a great meal here. Seated with another couple, as is the format, we ended having a great chat with this lovely couple from London. Our choice for the meal was scallops, razor clams, mussels and calamari. They were fabulous. A nice bottle of bubbly topped off the food. I strongly recommend that you try this place if you are a seafood lover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“One rude member of staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We attempted to eat in here today. We were in a group of 5 and there was a table set for four people and available. The waiter would not allow an extra chair at the table and was extremely rude to my daughter who politely asked if the table would seat five. I'm not sure why some waiting staff take pleasure from being rude to (potential) customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony G, General Manager at Riddle and Finns, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Ian

I am very sorry to hear that you felt rudely treated by a member of my team. We obviously try to be polite and courteous to all of our customers, potential or otherwise, and take no pleasure in being seemingly rude, or, indeed, in being unable to meet our guests requests.

Due to the size of our site and it's table plan, all of our 4 cover tables line the wall on one side of the restaurant creating a passage running through the centre on the other side of the table; this allows customers and most importantly waiters and waitresses up and down the site carrying hot plates and larger fruits de mer platters, clear and easy access to the toilets for guests and a clear line to the rear fire escape. For these reasons through experience we have found it to be impractical and a hindrance to other customers to allow an extra chair on the end of any of these tables. I am sorry that this made you feel unwelcome and I can assure you that it is never intended to be rude or in any other way offensive to practice this policy.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Oysters and Scallops for Breakfast? Oh Yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Fantastic food, great view, great service (albiet a bit slow due to a huge group arriving just before us). Upstairs is a suntrap - brilliant!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riddle and Finns also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Riddle and Finns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riddle and Finns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.