We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & so very friendly, we felt like we've found a true gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riddle and Finns

Riddle and Finns
Arch 139, Brighton bn1 1hb, England
01273 821 218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 833 restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $40 - $99
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Now open on the beachfront – Riddle & Finns II is the sister restaurant to the highly acclaimed Riddle & Finns in The Lanes.Overlooking the beach & directly across the road from the Brighton Centre the restaurant offers the same selection of classic seafood dishes made from the freshest ingredients with the addition of some meat dishes for the non pescetarians.An al fresco terrace seats up to 40 guests while the restaurant itself seats 55, with a private dining room seating up to 10 covers, the new addition is the perfect place to enjoy a glass or two of bubbly with some freshly shucked oysters or a celebratory seafood banquet.Unlike the original Lanes restaurant the new beachfront branch does accept reservations & is available to hire for parties & corporate functions.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious & so very friendly, we felt like we've found a true gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We ate here a couple of months ago and been meaning to write a review as always like to congratulate people on a very success business.
The food was absolutely delicious, the staff were very good at their job and make you feel like an old seasoned regular, even though it was our first (but definitely not our last) visit, whilst not being in your face, relaxed and how lovely to see seafood but with a twist. A MUST for any seafood lovers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    452
    168
    45
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunshine and seafood - delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a long lunch here on a sunny Saturday in June. Arrived early without a booking and secured a table out of the wind. If you do not book then it may be a wait if it is busy. My wife had squid for starters and sea bass for main which she enjoyed. My halibut main was delicious but the starter mussels were somewhat watery. All washed down with a nice sauvignon. A bit on the pricey side overall but then you pay for the location. Seats are a bit hard for a long lunch but I suppose they want to turn over the tables. Excellent and friendly service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Visit the Arches! And don't forget your voucher!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

They squeezed us in on a last minute booking and I'm soooo glad they did! Our hosts at the Cavalaire provided us with a voucher for free Champagne on arrival here so we thought we'd give it a try. Although the online menu's out of date, the actual menu was just as good with a wide variety of delicious fish dishes and good wine.

Scallops cooked with chorizo - simply melt in the mouth stunning... The Gambas main course with a pilpil type sauce and fries to soak it up - excellent... finished off with a delicious, but light Key Lime Pie. Even the initial bread supplied with smoked mackerel pate, horseradish and garlic mayonnaise was lovely (though I don't appreciate being 'given' something and then being charged for it at the end without being informed or even asked - it's a matter of politeness..?)

It's a great location on the seafront, opposite the Brighton Centre and you'll be very glad you went there - give it a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch by the seafront. The food was delicious and the service friendly and efficient. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food & great atmosphere, great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Went to the restaurant yesterday, the 15th of June around 13:15. It was very busy, we left our name and number andwe were called not long after. The wait and evend drive from London was worth just for this experience. If you are a seafood fan - I strongly recommend you to take the time and visit the restaurant.
I would like to mention as a side note, as a testimony to the owners and employees: I forgot my Samsung S4 on the table, they chased me down the street in order to return my cell phone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riddle and Finns also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Riddle and Finns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riddle and Finns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.