We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with beautiful authentics furnishings and lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mascara

Mascara
101 Western Road, Brighton BN1 2AA, England
+44 1273 278185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $24 - $33
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brighton
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with beautiful authentics furnishings and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I went to Mascara for the first time with some friends and had a lovely time. My husband and I eat alot of North African food and we thought the food was excellent with bags of flavour.

The price is very reasonable and overall its good value. The staff there are also really friendly and were really helpful and good fun.

The venue itself is beautifully furnished and we'll definately be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    31
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic food and the owner Haroun is such a good host never a had a bad meal there ever. We have had several family gatherings and have always really enjoyed ourselves every time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Amazing starters full of flavour, we ordered two different mains but both lamb and they tasted the same however no complaint as it was tasty and generous servings. I would agree with previous comments, no need to book, only 5 tables so a quiet evening, service is efficient and very friendly especially if you speak French. The decor gives a lovely impression of being back in Marrakesh. Only draw back was the Baklava, over £5 for 2 morsels and a cheap scoop of ice cream was a let down on quality. Free mint tea served the traditional way was a pleasant end to a charming evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Shame we were the only ones in there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a lovely little restaurant serving very good food. We booked (although no need in my opinion) but were the only people in there for the whole of the meal so sadly not a lot of atmosphere.
The food however, was good and well proportioned. The Baklava some of the best I have tasted. My only complaint (any this really was not a problem) was that the main course was unbelievably hot which meant I had to wait until it had cooled somewhat before I ate it.
The staff were pleasant and unobtrusive. Would definitely go back but would take others with me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were in this restaurant couple of times and every time it was just the best. Great service, great food and excellent choice of wines with your food. Love it to the bits.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mascara also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Mascara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mascara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.