We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light and crispy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of bankers

bankers
116A Western Rd, Brighton BN1 2AB, England
+44 1273 328267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Light and crispy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Bankers is a Brighton Institution. Delicious fish, chips, and mushy peas!! The fish is in mouthwatering light batter, the chips are crispy and not overdone and the peas complete a lovely meal.. Always well attended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    102
    37
    18
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish is an understatement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have spent all day telling anyone who would listen.What a great restaurant this is. Varsik our waitress was so attentive the place was spotless. Value for every penny.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The place for fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Fantastic visiting family from US and it's around the corner lovely staff great food as well as fantastic locals nothing to complain about

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a nice meal here. The staff were really friendly and attentive, the food was great too. Great scampi and chips and sausage and chips. Just what was needed after a long day exploring.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rianna W, Customer Services at bankers, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your visit to Bankers. We are always glad to hear feedback from our customers and are thrilled to hear your enjoyed your Scampi and Sausage meals. Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review, and we look forward to serving your in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hygienic... I don't think so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

On the window it say's it's won some kind of award for cleanliness/hygiene - When ordering my chips last Wednesday night a member of staff reached in to where the chips were served picked out a chip and ate it right in front of customers, she then continued with the order she was dealing with - She shovelled chips into a takeaway container then moved them over with her hands so fit in the fish, she dropped the vinegar bottle on the floor picked it up and continued to use it - All of this without even washing her hands.
I was going to complain to the manager, then I noticed on her badge she was the manager (Maria I think), I'm sorry but I thought that was disgraceful.

My boyfriend reached over the counter to get a plastic fork rather than a wooden one to find it covered in food!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rianna W, Customer Services at bankers, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Vicki, Thank you very much for your feedback. You are quite right in saying that we were awarded 5 stars by environmental health due to the quality of our food safety systems, cleanliness and staff training. I am very disappointed to hear of your experience and can assure you we will investigate your complaint to the best of our ability.

Could you please send me your e-mail address to rianna@fnc-ltd.co.uk to discuss your experience in more detail? This will allow us to investigate your complaint in full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bankers also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to bankers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage bankers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.