We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Fish and Chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of bankers

bankers
116A Western Rd, Brighton BN1 2AB, England
+44 1273 328267
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Confolens, France
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Very Good Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great for take away, and good interior to eat inside with occasional evenings of entertainment, but the restaurant prices seem far too high compared to the take away. The quality is always good as are the portions, the half chicken and chips is great tasting and value

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    95
    37
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor chips and service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am a local so I know my stuff. Bankers is a little of a tourist trap.
When ever I have been in here I get chips that are greasy and taste horrible. Last time I went here (the very last time ever!), the portion of chips looked tiny- so I asked the miserable girl behind the counter could she put some more chips on the portion - The answer was no and delivered in a rude and abrupt manner! I asked for my money back. The staff in this place do not know how to smile or be polite, and barely look at you when taking your order.
Even though I live a few hundred yards from here, i will walk a lot further now to get a decent bag of quality chips.
If the owners are reading this...sort it out please! Please change the oil and serve nice fresh chips with a smile.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good chippie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice place for decent fish & chips, freshly cooked fish, lovely chips and great ( not tinned!) mushy peas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dont bother not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The food is greasy not quality at all cannot justify the price, the staff are rude and arrogant really you are better off going to a decent family owned fish and chip shop. Bankers used to have a good reputation but they have slipped terribly. The owners need to take on what the reviews say as locals uphold their business and I am afraid nobody I know locally would bother to go there any more. They need to sort out their food and start having better friendly staff otherwise they will fall victim to the ever growing closing businesses in Brighton.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great birthday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My aunt celebrated her 90th birthday today at her favourite restaurant together with close relatives. The restaurant staff were excellent, especially given that my cousin, who makes cakes, brought in one of her creations. The traditional fish and chips were, as ever, well up to standard.
Thank you for helping with our special day!
David

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bankers also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to bankers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage bankers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.