We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of choice, great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terre a Terre

Terre a Terre
71 East Street, Brighton BN1 1HQ, England
+44 1273 729051
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $40 - $47
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Brighton's critically acclaimed Terre a Terre is a vegetarian restaurant that will have even the most ardent carnivore waxing lyrical. Situated close to the sea-front. The decor is chic and stylish, using wooden floors and furniture to contrast with vibrant colours. But here the food is the centrepiece: dhal basmati buns with coconut curry leaf chatni, better Batter and Lemony Yemeni Relish and Thai aubergine jungle curry are just a few of the exotic and imaginative dishes you can find here. To complement the food, a large selection of organic beers, ciders and wines are available. A three course meal here costs an average of £30 per person. A refreshing take on vegetarian cuisine.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loads of choice, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We ate here for my partner's birthday that we celebrated in Brighton. There was loads of choice for the vegetarian. My main was nice, but it is really the deserts that you must try. I had the ginger cake - it was amazing! Best desert I have ever eaten. Service was fantastic!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Public Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very glad you enjoyed, thank you for the kind words about us. The Parkin pudding is extremely popular amongst the team as well as customers and an A A Gill favourite in the past! We have a talented enthusiastic team that deliver wonderful creative food and the best service - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    201
    89
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had lunch there today and it was great. Excellent service from staff the moment you step into the restaurant. I ordered the Better Batter and Lemony Yemeni Relish and it was delicious.
The halloumi was great and the variety of subtle flavours of the pea hash was out of the world. Food was prepared to a high standard. Can definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Public Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad you enjoyed, thank you for the kind words about us. We have a wonderful and enthusiastic team that deliver wonderful creative food and the best service - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. I hope to see you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Hadn't been to Terre e Terre for some time but visited twice in December.it was as amazing as ever.the food,service,atmosphere and staff were first rate,its such a treat as always

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about us. I am so glad you have enjoyed again and again. We have a fabulous team (kitchen and floor) a great asset to us - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. Hope to see you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A real favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went here twice in December. Once for the special set Xmas menu which, as always, blew me away, and then again for the standard menu. This has to be amongst the best restaurants in the country and I am so glad that it's in Brighton, my home town. Otherwise I'd be spending a lot of time and money travelling to Brighton as often as possible.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and for the kind words about us. I am so glad you have enjoyed again and again. We have a fabulous team (kitchen and floor) a great asset to us - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. Hope to see you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Without a doubt this is my personal favourite restaurant in the UK (vegetarian and otherwise). I recommend their sharing starter with samples from around the menu and the arepas as starters as it's too hard to choose - expect a taste sensation every bite! The customer service is always fantastic and friendly. Hoping to go again soon, so maybe see you there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad you enjoyed, thank you for the kind words about us. We have a wonderful and enthusiastic team that deliver wonderful creative food and the best service - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. I hope to see you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terre a Terre also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Terre a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre a Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.