We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will visit again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terre a Terre

Terre a Terre
71 East Street, Brighton BN1 1HQ, England
+44 1273 729051
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $40 - $47
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Brighton's critically acclaimed Terre a Terre is a vegetarian restaurant that will have even the most ardent carnivore waxing lyrical. Situated close to the sea-front. The decor is chic and stylish, using wooden floors and furniture to contrast with vibrant colours. But here the food is the centrepiece: dhal basmati buns with coconut curry leaf chatni, better Batter and Lemony Yemeni Relish and Thai aubergine jungle curry are just a few of the exotic and imaginative dishes you can find here. To complement the food, a large selection of organic beers, ciders and wines are available. A three course meal here costs an average of £30 per person. A refreshing take on vegetarian cuisine.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Will visit again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had been 'saving' a trip to terre terre for an occasion as it is of such high repute. We visited on New Years eve, and had the Season sensation menu, which was a tuned up version of a Christmas lunch. The cocktail to start was lovely, not too spicy, not too boozy, and not too gravy like (I can't stand mulled wine for that quality). The brûlée starter was a little too generous in quantity, and incredibly rich, the little crustini's that came with it were tasty and nice but the quantities didn't balance. The main course consisted of a mini mushroom pie, which was pleasant but not exceptional, some very good truffle potato purée (posh mash), and a slightly odd but not unpleasant cabbage wrapped something... It was all pleasant but I wouldn't describe it as award winning... My dessert consisted of a lovely plum pudding, another steamed sponge, posh custard and ice cream. It was a bit heavy, but the plum pudding was well executed, and the posh custard tasty. Ian (husband, and dinning partner in crime) had a selection of sorbets - only the lemon one was remarkable, the others were lacking in fruity-ness and rather too sugary. The staff were upbeat and professional - we liked them :) We rather regretted not going for broke and eating off the main menu - we'll come again, and try and pick the highlights (saw a shared dessert featuring Churro's which will make the selection list)!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our staff they are a great asset to us. The Christmas menu was very much based around the classic dishes it is what our customers have asked for. I would suggest you enjoy some of the lighter dishes off our a la carte next time as they sound more suited to your tastes. Please ask our waiters for advice on what to order, they know the food inside out!. We look forward to seeing you again very soon .Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    201
    89
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Sumptuously rustic. Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My boyfriend (the veggie) and I (meat lover, Greek) dined here on New Years Eve and were blown away by the fabulous tastes and ingredients on our plates.

A really amazing collaboration of different textures and flavours. I had the 'Ding Ding Merrily on Pie' and it was literally like culinary Christmas presents on a plate... tasty little surprises each time I put something else in my mouth. Loved it... woke up craving the truffle creamed potatoes for breakfast though.

Our waiter was lovely... passionate, great menu knowledge and fab service.

Thanks for a lovely evening AND inspiring a new years resolution to be more creative when it comes to vegetarian cooking! Hopefully my Terre a Terre cookbook that we bought on the way out will help!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad you enjoyed, thank you for the kind words about us. We have a wonderful and enthusiastic team that deliver wonderful creative food and the best service - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. Enjoy the cookbook and let us know how you get on with the recipes. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liss, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terre-a-terre-ibly tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We enjoyed another great meal at Terre a Terre, sampling the Christmas menu. Desperately heavy traffic and slow parking in Brighton meant we arrived late, but the staff were so friendly and welcoming. It's always a pleasure to come here. We aren't all vegetarians but always enjoy the imaginative combinations.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad you enjoyed, thank you for the kind words about us. We have a wonderful and enthusiastic team that deliver wonderful creative food and the best service - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horam, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked a table for the evening of 14/12/13 to coincide with a visit to the theatre. The service was excellent with any member of the waiting staff available to attend to our wishes. All of them were equally friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The food was excellent and although the starter we ordered turned out not to be available the replacement we settled on was very good and we got it for free as compensation! Even if this had not been the case the overall price was extremely reasonable for what was a luxurious and romantic experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. I apologise for the starter change, we had a problem with the crockery on that day, this rarely happens. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Standard fare good cider”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were excited to visit this restaurant after looking at their book and reading some of the reviews. But I would say one to avoid the staff were super nice and super friendly/helpful but the food is not up to standard for a modern vegetarian establishment. Most of the dishes were very similar in taste and seemingly had similar ingredients, quite expensive as well. A great Rostii completely messed up by over ambitious sauces-font mess with something already perfect! Lovely cider!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our staff they are a great asset to us. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect. I am sorry to hear some of the dishes disappointed you. We change the menu every 2-3 months hopefully you will find something more suited to your tastes next time. We look forward to seeing you again soon .Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terre a Terre also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Terre a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre a Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.