We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vegetarian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terre a Terre

Terre a Terre
71 East Street, Brighton BN1 1HQ, England
+44 1273 729051
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 873 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $41 - $47
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Brighton's critically acclaimed Terre a Terre is a vegetarian restaurant that will have even the most ardent carnivore waxing lyrical. Situated close to the sea-front. The decor is chic and stylish, using wooden floors and furniture to contrast with vibrant colours. But here the food is the centrepiece: dhal basmati buns with coconut curry leaf chatni, better Batter and Lemony Yemeni Relish and Thai aubergine jungle curry are just a few of the exotic and imaginative dishes you can find here. To complement the food, a large selection of organic beers, ciders and wines are available. A three course meal here costs an average of £30 per person. A refreshing take on vegetarian cuisine.
London, England
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

everything was very tasty. Cheese souffle was delicious as was the chocolate churros! Server was knowledgeable and helpful. Good ambiance too.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    201
    89
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“One of the best veggie restaurants I have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Saturday lunch in Brighton. Where to go for something different? Well Terre a Terre is an absolute gem. The food is imaginative, plentiful and beautifully prepared and presented. Unusual for a veggie restaurant. The ambience is simple, but comfortable and spacious and the service is friendly and helpful. Just a lovely experience and we will definitely be going back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really imaginative vegetarian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with an exciting menu - not at all what most vegetarian restaurants offer. The prices reflect this but I don't They have gone to town with descriptions of the dishes but you will see why when the food arrives. The service is good and it is a delight that it is a spacious setting and you are not crammed on top of each other.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Eat your fill, but best split the bill!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a relaxed Sunday lunch with a group of friends with varied appetites and budgets.

The restaurant is elegantly decorated with restful, understated colours with a pleasant ambiance for conversation.

We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals - it's the kind of food to get excited about. Everything was masterfully prepared, very beautifully presented and even the simplest dishes offer depth of flavour, varied textures and stunning colours.

Until the point where we asked for the bill, the service was faultlessly courteous and efficient. However, when we attempted to divide the bill according to who had eaten what, we ran into problems. What had been a lazy afternoon became fraught with confusion and anxiety, because we had been charged the 'party rate' per head (for groups of 8+) which added an extra sum to the bill which took a good while for us to account for.

When quizzed, the staff were quite adamant that the problems were being caused by our insistence on paying individually and that it was not 'common practice' to allow guests to do this. The waiter who dealt with our bill became clearly angry and frustrated, and this made some of us feel very uncomfortable.

It was real shame that the staff did not manage to deal with this in a better way. If they had I would awarding an unreserved 5 stars, but considering that we had enjoyed such a splendid meal we were left with an unexpectedly unpleasant aftertaste.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Classy, friendly, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My sister and I (both veggies) spent a weekend in Brighton and tried most of the veggie establishments that Brighton has to offer. For an evening meal, this one won over Food for Friends. The waiter was helpful and friendly, and the shared platter we picked was plentiful, delicious and well presented. The surroundings are attractive and sophisticated too. A lovely evening.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terre a Terre also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Terre a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre a Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.