We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terre a Terre

Terre a Terre
71 East Street, Brighton BN1 1HQ, England
+44 1273 729051
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $39 - $45
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Brighton's critically acclaimed Terre a Terre is a vegetarian restaurant that will have even the most ardent carnivore waxing lyrical. Situated close to the sea-front. The decor is chic and stylish, using wooden floors and furniture to contrast with vibrant colours. But here the food is the centrepiece: dhal basmati buns with coconut curry leaf chatni, better Batter and Lemony Yemeni Relish and Thai aubergine jungle curry are just a few of the exotic and imaginative dishes you can find here. To complement the food, a large selection of organic beers, ciders and wines are available. A three course meal here costs an average of £30 per person. A refreshing take on vegetarian cuisine.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Pretentious and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Pretentitious and overpriced... yes its reasonably good vegetarian food but you go here to make a statement, not to eat IMHO

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    228
    95
    39
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am not a vegetarian , but love this restaurant. We always make sure to book a late table around 8 pm as it is ours until they close. The service is fantastic and never rushed. On our last visit the waiter whose name I forgot to get went above an beyond. My wife and I decided we would have some dessert wine but were unsure which being mere peasants however the waiter came over with a sampler tray of all of them to choose from. Brilliant !!! I even left a tip ( which I never do )
Food is great, atmosphere is great and staff are fab ! Make sure you book in advance though !

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always a good eat...heaven for strictly vegetarians..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This restaurant is always top notch...I've dined here for 13+ years and have never had a bad meal...I keep coming back and even meat eating friends are more than pleased with the dining experience here, because that is what it is...an experience....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Food is inventive and although it looks like it won't be filling, in the end it is. Not cheap, though.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The food and service was very good at this restaurant. The cocktails were great, the choice of wine and the amazing choice of food was all very welcome!
I would highly recommend this place to all diners, vegetarian or not.
The staff were very attentive and friendly. The decor was relaxed and comfortable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terre a Terre also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Terre a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre a Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.