We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Paella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Don Carlos

Casa Don Carlos
5 Union Street, Brighton BN1 1HA, England
+44 (0)1273 327177
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $40 - $55
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Great food, Great atmosphere, really busy even on a Tuesday!
Recommend the Paella and Meatballs.
You should book ahead we had a short wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    126
    43
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good authentic spanish cuisine!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am always looking at reviews on trip advisor so i thought i should maybe start to write some myself!
Casa Dos Carlos is one of our favorite restaurants in our home town, always busy (which is a good sign) but sometimes disappointing if you cant get in!! The staff appear to all be happy to work there - the food is simple but plentiful and resonably priced - The space in the restaurant is at a minimum so if you like lots of space this is not the place for you - as it is alway nearly packed - we have gone there as a couple and as a party and as a family and always had a good experience. I would thoroughly reccomend this restaurant to those that like simple, fair priced authentic tapas - we have been going for years and will continue to ...................

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the Heart of the Lanes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It’s great to be back here again after a break of 4 years.
I’m pleased to say that everything is a good as it’s always been. There is a massive selection of tapas available to suit everyone. Every dish is fresh, tasty and delicious. Atmosphere is lively and bustling, suiting large groups, but retains a cosy and romantic feel without intrusion for those dining as a couple.
Staff are friendly and attentive throughout. With its perfectly suited location in the heart of Brighton’s lanes, it’s hard to find any faults with this place at all. Highly enjoyable and will be returning at some point in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, nice atmosphere, good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Authentic Spanish tapas in Brighton! We're fans of the chicken dishes but the whole menu is excellent. Also the oxtail casserole is a favourite. Portion size is generous. We live in Brighton and are regulars here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Went there on a busy Saturday night , great food , fantastic service ,,,,,,a cracking little tapas restaurant , will be going back ...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Don Carlos also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Casa Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.