We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Don Carlos

Casa Don Carlos
5 Union Street, Brighton BN1 1HA, England
+44 (0)1273 327177
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $55
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Found this completely by accident one lunchtime. What a beehive of activity, constant change of covers, very busy but waiters still had time to make suggestions and even got us to change our minds. Well worthwhile. Good value for money

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    450
    145
    51
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“deeee-licious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the best places to eat in Brighton, Casa Don Carlos is a true Spanish oasis in the middle of Brighton! As this horrible weather had plagued our shores for way too long, the food here is one of the few true antidotes! Flavoursome, hearty and novel, it's a great way to bring some tasty happiness into your life.

The chorizo flambéed in rum is a MUST and the rabbit is a delight! Prawns are chunky and delicious and the patatas bravas portions are truly plentiful - unlike other tapas places!

<3 it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The heart of Spain in the lanes of Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife's parents have eaten here for over 20 years and we have eaten here for the last 8!! I wouldn't dream of eating Spanish anywhere else! The staff are always friendly, the food is always quick, full of flavour and great value for money. Must book a table in advance as they are always busy and constantly turn people away at the door. We as a family have never had a bad meal and would always recommend a visit!! Definitely a must for great food!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Come here every time we visit UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

One of my wife's and my favourites - we come here everytime we pop over from Singapore on holiday. The food is always tasty and we try to work our around the menu. Today we had rabbit, sardines, paella and chickpeas. Worth a visit if your are in the Lanes in Brighton.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have visited this restaurant with my young family three times now and have had a great time on each occasion. Pricing is middle-the-road, the food good, but it's the service that's outstanding! I sometimes feel uneasy taking the kids into a restaurant(!), but here, the welcome extends to all - no matter what age! Book in advance; many are turned away even at eary sittings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Don Carlos also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Casa Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.