We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip to Brighton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Don Carlos

Casa Don Carlos
5 Union Street, Brighton BN1 1HA, England
+44 (0)1273 327177
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $55
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Brighton. Food is excellent and the service is good. As a regular you are welcomed and suggestions are made based on your last visit. I’ve taken friends and clients there and always people are impressed. 2012 we had our company Christmas meal there and we stayed for hours, no pressure to leave, no pressure to order more. Overall as good as the places in Southern Spain and the Canaries. Ask your waiter to suggest wine and specials – often excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    144
    51
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“AMAZING AUTHENTIC SPANISH TAPAS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Casa Don Carlos is now my favorite restaurant in Brighton! Excellent food, fantastic atmosphere, welcoming staff, quick service, reasonable prices! I went to this Tapas Bar for a work friends birthday on a Tuesday and for around £20 each myself and a party of 10 shared bread and olives, around 3/4 dishes each (although we all shared and tried a bit of everything as it was that amazing) and three or four glasses of sangria each! Every dish i tried was delicious and spot on, some tapas places i have visited have some good dishes and some naff dishes but that wasn't the case here- everything was beautiful! Before i knew it i was being told to turn around and watch a waiter set a tapas dish on fire which was great. i think i felt Spanish for the night! I am definitely returning with friends and family again. Book in advance though as it is a small place which gets busy (it was packed on a Tuesday night at 7 pm when i went!)- but this adds to its authentic and lively character/atmosphere!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tantalising Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Once inside this amazing tapas restaurant you are instantly transported to Spain.
The manager welcomes you with open arms, taking you to your table.

It's hard to decide on what to eat but the waiter is always open to suggestions.
We decided on, potatoes in mojo sauce, calamari, prawns cooked in garlic and oil and the lamb which was on the special board. Everything was cooked to perfection!
I cannot fault this restaurant, some people say that "your sitting on top of one another", but having eaten in tapas restaurants in Madrid and Barcelona, this is exactly whats it's like. Its a great place to be social.

So, grab a table, a jug of Sangria, order a selection of Tapas and transport yourself to Spain!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great tapas, great atmosphere, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I've been here several times now for family meals, the latest for my parents leaving do before they went off travelling. I cannot be complimentary enough about the whole experience, the food is excellent, well portioned and cooked to order and the specials board always adds something new and interesting to the extensive standard menu. The staff are remarkably friendly, greet you as old friends and were genuinely interested in my parents travel plans (which include South America, so lots of advice). The consistency of the food, atmosphere and service make this a firm favourite with the Jenkins family, will definitely return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I can honestly say we have never had a bad meal at this restaurant, it is a firm favorite all our friends and family. The staff are always friendly, the food always good and whole place clean and inviting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Don Carlos also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Casa Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.