We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea side visit time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Summer

Indian Summer
69 East Street, Brighton BN1 1HQ, England
+44 1273 711001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 871 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $36 - $108
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: North Street
Description: Situated in the bustling lanes, snuggled between terre a terre and toni and guy. A beautiful victorian building with high ceilings and original features. Adorned with indian street images and candlelit walls, you are sure to enjoy your experience here
West Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Sea side visit time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I came here for dinne when we was traveling for sea beach. The food is here is excellent and the service fantastic. Love this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    102
    35
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We were very impressed with this restaurant and enjoyed the service and food . Loved the little touches like the tiny soup before we began the starter and the cleansing sorbet. Delicious and the service was as good as the food, warm, attentive and friendly. This is a place I look forward to returning to.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic experience every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

For us who live in Brighton, we know we are truly blessed with fantastic restaurants. The wife and I really enjoy Indian food and we have tried a few of the well know restaurants including the Curry Leaf and the Chilli Pickle which are both excellent and, would they be anywhere else, be the best around, but I think the whole package of the service, ambience and the food nudge Indian Summer just above.

The restaurant has a very different feel from the usual Indian restaurants. Immediately you are greeted by some of the friendliest front-of-house people I have ever met. The two times we have eaten here we have taken our baby along in his buggy and the restaurant manager has been incredibly nice by making sure we feel comfortable and have a table which is suitable for the three of us. Then on to the food: it's just absolutely lovely. It's a different menu to what you come to expect from a run-of-the-mill, but it just makes that some of thing look pedestrian. The little in-between courses are also great and add to the sense of occasion.

We have been twice in the space of a month and will be likely return a couple of times every month from now on. It's a winning formula and we are just so grateful we can eat amazing food, in a lovely restaurant and not feel uncomfortable taking our little man along.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Been here a couple of times some years ago. The menu needs to improve, how many people really care about the owners and there stories. What you need to do is have a clear and priced menu that people can choose and not a menu that you set people should have at a high price.
Secondly you need to work on your welcoming and not behave as if you are some up market restaurant in the heart of London.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

After giving this restaurant a second try we were still disappointed by the lack of choice and quite bland flavours. A starter that was essentially Bombay mix with yogurt and tamarind sauce was cold although this wasn't pointed out in the menu which was taken up with more than enough information about its employees. We go there for dinner not to read biographies of the staff.
We pointed out the partly tried starter wasn't good but to no avail. We also commented on their customer survey card and left email address. I suspect I won't hear from them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Summer also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Indian Summer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Summer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.