We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawadee Thai Restaurant

Sawadee Thai Restaurant
87 St James Street, Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TP, England
+44 (0)1273 624233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I checked out their menu online before we arrived, it looked good, It was, I had a vegetarian dish, my hubby had a chicken dish, we were both in food heaven, the service in there was excellent and on asking for the bill, the waitress asked how we enjoyed food , which got us on to, it was my hubby bday today.
we got the bill paid and next minute they came out singing happy birthday to my hubby, carrying a lit candle in a ball of ice cream with the other customers joining in.
It was very nice of them.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    74
    28
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Loved it..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I love Thai food when is cooked properly.. In Thailand we loved the street food as it was fresh and cooked front of your eyes.. Sawadee was busy when we arrived greeted by friendly waitress shown our table.. The
Ambience sweet, romantic, friendly yet efficient.. We ordered spring rolls, fish cakes, red curry and pad Thai, very testy and delicious..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Post Brighton Marathon Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit of about a year ago. I think last time I visited it was a busy Saturday, tonight was a quiet, wet, Monday night in Brighton. The food and service were every bit as good. The menu is lovely and very clearly explained and the food is just gorgeous. If I lived in Brighton I certainly would be a regular visitor.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great authentic Thai food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Despite reading some mixed reviews the restaurant looked busy so we thought we would eat there.
The staff were very friendly and attentive.
There was a great choice of food and having eaten Thai many times around the world, including varius parts of Thailand, I have to say the food tasted really authentic. The red curry was particularly tasty, as was the Pad Thai noodles which a lot of restauarants get wrong.
There was a good choice of drinks, there was a great atmosphere, and even though it was busy we were not rushed. I even has dessert, which was the ginger ice cream, and it was really scrummy!!

If you like Thai food and your in Brighton then I'd recommend 'Sawadee'. Next time I'm in Brighton it will be No.1 on my list to re-visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Average Thai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My partner had the squid starter which she liked and cod fillet curry which was OK. My chicken curry was also just OK, not a flavour sensation, rather just sufficient to satisfy my hunger.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawadee Thai Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sawadee Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawadee Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.