We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brilliant meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawadee Thai Restaurant

Sawadee Thai Restaurant
87 St James Street, Kemptown, Brighton BN2 1TP, England
+44 (0)1273 624233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 873 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another brilliant meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Well worth a visit, excellent food and service. Second time we have eaten here. One of the best Thai meals we have had anywhere.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    74
    28
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've eaten here many times over several years and generally had great food and service but tonight was sadly an exception. The waitress literally threw our starters over us, covering the table and my jeans in chilli sauce. Accidents happen but this one wasn't handled well - lots of fussing and cleaning ensued but nobody bothered to make sure we were okay. I had to repeatedly ask for a wet cloth to salvage my clothes. Replacement starters came but mine wasn't cooked at all well. Mains was fine if a little overblown with spices. When they bill came we were pretty shocked to still be charged full service charge and more so that what had happened hadn't even resulted in an apology. We paid our bill with no fuss as we didn't want to embarrass the poor girl but will think twice about eating here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Thai food, good value and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We looked on TA for reviews before deciding where to eat and the positive reviews were well placed. The staff were very friendly and efficient, the service was quick and the food was tasty and delicious. We visited on a Wednesday evening when the restaurant was busy but not full.

We had a mixed starter which was very tasty followed by a chicken red curry and a prawn chilli and garlic dish with sticky rice and a pad thai. The wine was good value and dinner for two with a bottle of wine and service was £60 which we thought was excellent value. The food was authentic, tasty and fresh.

We sat in the back room which was a bit quieter and would thoroughly recommend Sawadee to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Staying at Brighton for one night, decided not to book a restaurant before we came and stumbled across the Sawadee. What a find. We were greeted fantastically and with no hesitation showed to a table in a busy restaurant ,bustling for a Sunday night it felt more like a Friday!
Food was excellent and service kept up the same quality all night.
Good food,good wine and a reasonable price
Thank you the Sawadee

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The food is great value for money. Tastes lovely and not too expensive. Lovely flavours that took me back to the days of traveling Thailand - not convinced on the overuse of mushrooms though but that's a personal preference. Staff seemed a bit stressed and came across a little rude though which is why only 4/5 on this occasion

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawadee Thai Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sawadee Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawadee Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.