We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant, Bar & Shop

Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant, Bar & Shop
6 New Road, Brighton BN1 1UF, England
+44 (0)1273 773777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #241 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This classically kooky, Tokyo-esque Japanese restaurant and delicatessen on the New Road in Brighton is the brainchild of acclaimed chef Mike Dodd and DJ Norman Cook aka Fatboy Slim. With a minimialist, contemporary interior featuring handmade oak furniture, caliigraphy clad lanterns and an exclusive soundtrack tailor made by Cook, Oki-Nami has become a hit with local sushi connoisseurs, hipsters and Japanophiles. Located near the Theatre Royal opposite the Pavillion Gardens, Oki-Nami restaurant is renowned for its award-winning sushi; Japanese tapas; main courses such as the Suzuki Saffron sea bass served with a citrus sauce; desserts including the restaurant's famous green tea ice cream; and east-meets-west cocktails such as the Japanese Cherry Blossom Margarita.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Defo worth a visit people, however do not be in a rush and take a sweater as it s freezing and I am scottish who spent 3 months in the arctic...be warned.

Food was lovely I really have no complaints and I eat at a lot of Japenese Places and I would certainly go back for another meal there.
We had the Spinah and Pumpkin Fritters for a starter with the Zushi Platter, my only gripe would be price to volume they do skimp a little on the portions ....please increase them if you can or drop them by a pound.
Mains were Steak Bento which was again as you would expect and My lady had the Chilli Beef Ramen which she said was lovely and would have again so all in all a pleasant meal

10% service charge is a bit rude though I do have to say when the service is a lifetime for lunch and it does seem all a little manic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    48
    23
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, dreadful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The food is excellent, the only reason I don't eat there any more is the service is so dreadful. If you wanted to eat pre-theatre you would probably miss the show. I great shame.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okinami, Manager at Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant, Bar & Shop, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi there - thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback from our customers. We are so happy that you enjoyed your food and are sorry that you encountered a negative customer service experience with us on your visit. We always do our best to deliver a faster service for our theatre-goer customers, but in light of your review we have implemented further customer service training for all our waiting staff. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice little restaurant..but a little cold in winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Have been several times to eat at Oki-Nami, as food very good, and a good menu choice with a variety of dishes from the simple sushi, noodle soup and rice dishes. Dishes are slightly more expensive. The main problem was they have with the heating, as listed building, so does get a bit chilly, especially if seated near door, which really is the main problem of the place. Other wise great drink selection and food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okinami, Manager at Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant, Bar & Shop, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience at Oki-Nami.
Regarding the cold temperature of the restaurant - you are right in that it is indeed because we are a listed building! We do our best to place heaters all over the restaurant to keep our customers warm - but sometimes this isn't enough - as you kindly let us know. Hopefully, as we come into warmer weather, this won't continue to be an issue and in the meantime we will look into further ways to keep the restaurant warm during the colder months! Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited this restaurant today with myself, husband and 2 daughters. Very welcome greeting, excellent drinks suggestions. Didn't wait long for drinks to arrive, the japanese lemonade very good, the sauvignon Blanc could have been slightly more chilled. We told the owner/chef that we are unfamilar with japanese foof and to choose our menu for us. Excellent choice of sushi platter, tempura seabass amazing and the duck dumplings were out of this world. The experience as Oki-Namo was excellent and we were very well looked after. The bill came to just under £80 inclusive of service, enjoyed the food and experience. This was a quiet lunchtime so suggest you visit at a similar time for a similar service. Very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tasty but fell short”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We pre booked our table back in August, however when we arrived our booking could not be found but with little fuss we were given a table squashed next to counter which was ok but every time the door to the resturant was opened you got a rush of very cold air. Putting this aside we received our free hot saki which was what you received if you pre booked your table on line. The food was tasty however my husbands starter Nikku Gyoza which were dumplings were a bit burnt on 2 of them which my husband said were ok he didn't mind the taste but obviously again was a bit disappointed. His main which was Unagi Don ,Teriyaki char grilled eel which was very nice and I had the Chicken Teriyaki which tasted lovely if a bit cold. All in all we are glad that we went however left disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant, Bar & Shop also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant, Bar & Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant, Bar & Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.