We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, cozy restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerman

Gingerman
21A Norfolk Square, Brighton BN1 2PD, England
(01273) 326688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $48
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In Norfolk Square, The Gingerman Restaurant has a small, intimate dining room and a superb menu of modern British cuisine made with fresh, local produce. Full of unique character, the stylish restaurant possesses a great reputation within the city. With intimate lighting and simple wooden furnishings, this Brighton eatery has a warm, cosy ambience. The delicious dishes from the seasonal gourmet menu include slow roasted pork belly with creamy mash, cumin spiced lamb rack with black cardamom puree and coconut chutney or pig cheek ravioli with saffron jus. A classy list of wines and premium champagnes will complement your meal. Gingerman restaurant offers smart, unpretentious dining in vibrant Brighton.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food, cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

One of the four eateries in the "Gingerman" chain, this is the second I've tried and I've been delighted with both.

It's a small, cozy restaurant, ideal for an intimate meal. It's set in a residential street of Brighton near the West Pier so it's not too busy in the streets around and near enough the cost for a walk to help the food down afterwards if the weather allows! The service was very good and the food was delightful. If you go and you're a pudding fan, the presentation of the souffle is spectacular. Risen to perfection!

It's fine dining but in a relaxed atmosphere at a reasonable price, just the kind of thing I like.

It's a must to try in Brighton at least once.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    68
    23
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bad service meant we were told there was a problem 2 hours before our reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Myself and my fiance came to Brighton for the weekend. To celebrate my birthday, my fiance booked a table at this restaurant a couple of weeks earlier, for the saturday night at 8pm. At 6.45pm on said night we had a phone call from the Gingerman saying that they had made a mistake and actually had a private party booked in for that night, so we couldn't go. I find it strange that they only thought to tell us this less than 2 hours before we were due to arrive, it made finding somewhere else to eat quite difficult as a saturday night in Brighton is a popular time to eat out. We were really disappointed with this service and feel they should have realised the problem a lot sooner. We were also disappointed we didn't get to eat there!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“best restaurant in brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

it is a charming little place of understated chic hidden in a romantic seaside square near Waitrose. The quality of the service is exciting to the point of being touching. the food is unbeatable in cooking and ingredients and can cost as little as 18 pounds for three courses at lunch. i was surprised to find it 7 years ago and revisit them regularly but not often because they do not change the menue much, keeping mainly to their winning recepies

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This place offers excellent food and very good service. The decor is very stylish. Very nice atmosphere, relaxed and cosy. It's fine dining, but with rather reasonable prices. I had pheasant when I went there, it was delicious.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Confolens, France
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Reliable and good food at small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

We were fortunate enough to have a special Daily Telegraph dine out meal for £10 which included a starter, plus amuse bouche, main course, small loaf of bread, dessert, plus glass of wine needless to say fantastic value and the restaurant did not reduce the quality of their food for this special offer (good for them). We have eaten at this place before over a few years and the food has always been very good, and good value.

The only negatives is the decor is looking a little tired, the place being so small it can be a bit tight between tables, and on the day of the special offer the service was slow, especially waiting for the dessert (tart tatin).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerman also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Gingerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.