We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerman

Gingerman
21A Norfolk Square, Brighton BN1 2PD, England
(01273) 326688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 876 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In Norfolk Square, The Gingerman Restaurant has a small, intimate dining room and a superb menu of modern British cuisine made with fresh, local produce. Full of unique character, the stylish restaurant possesses a great reputation within the city. With intimate lighting and simple wooden furnishings, this Brighton eatery has a warm, cosy ambience. The delicious dishes from the seasonal gourmet menu include slow roasted pork belly with creamy mash, cumin spiced lamb rack with black cardamom puree and coconut chutney or pig cheek ravioli with saffron jus. A classy list of wines and premium champagnes will complement your meal. Gingerman restaurant offers smart, unpretentious dining in vibrant Brighton.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The food was excellent, there's a good wine list ranging up to the pricey but with some great lower priced ones as well, the service was attentive and the restaurant whilst fairly small (so booking probably a must) had a great atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    65
    19
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the restaurant on special occasion place quite small and cosy but the foods was very nice desert delicious want to go back there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Go for the souffle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Gingerman on Friday evening to celebrate our anniversary. Overall I was pleased with the meal however I feel that some courses were more successful than others.

We both had the quail to start with which was served on the bone and involved a lot of manual work! I would have enjoyed it more if it had been taken off the bone and I could have just concentrated on eating the dish. My main was the sea bass which was unfortunately a little bland. The pancetta pieces added a bit of taste but I was definitely left lusting after my boyfriends piece of steak.

Thankfully the desert made up for all these issues and was truly wonderful. A huge raspberry souffle served with raspberry ripple ice-cream and vanilla custard was a fantastic was to finish the meal.

The restaurant is cosy with a nice atmosphere and the staff were friendly so I would definitely give it another go in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small but beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We hadn't booked and were a little concerned about the fixed price of £30. This is fine dining and the food is excellent as is the atmosphere though a little dark in places. We went for two courses and found that the service was really good but not oppressive and the pace of service was relaxed but not to the point of checking the watch.
Oh and they do take credit cards...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant for the second time last Tuesday,its fast becoming our favourite.

Starters of Quail and Frogs legs we're Devine then we both had the monkfish for main,which had an incredible array of flavours.For dessert we chose the selection of desserts each one was faultless and it looked amazing.

We'll definitely be returning on our next visit to Brighton

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gingerman also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Gingerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.