We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good breakfast, service could be better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buddies Brighton

Buddies Brighton
46-48 Kings Road, Brighton Bn 1 1 na, England
01273 323 600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #504 of 908 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Thurso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good breakfast, service could be better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Not a bad place at all - you get what you pay for. Had a breakfast with all the bits and it was good. Not the greatest coffee in the world but it worked. Really great venue right on the seafront. Service was quite prompt (but not very friendly though and not very good English - had to repeat myself a few times). I do think that places where customer service is involved, should not talk in foreign languages to each other in front of customers, it can come across as a little rude-merely a suggestion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    47
    24
    21
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visited very late after pride. It was very busy and you had to queue but no problem. The waiter who served us was plain rude, arrogant, sighed and rolled his eyes when two of our party said that we only wanted drinks. I thought the bill was extremely expensive and I was going to check it more thoroughly but the waiter dropped it onto the table and it promptly blew away in the wind. Tea and a pint of lager arrived but we waited about half an hour for a coffee that never came. When I protested they made no effort to resolve the matter. What we had was costly at half the price and we may have been over charged but it was more the attitude that bothered me. I think they wanted people in and out as quick so they could to make a killing. The four of us will keep a wide berth from this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Hen party staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in the hostel over Buddies and had read about it on here so it became a staple of my friends hen party in Brighton.located right by the clubs,hostels and taxi ranks so on a night out Buddies is the perfect place to get your beer soaking session after the clubs kick out.its nice to actually be able to sit outside at a table and chill out for a bit at the end of the night.makes a refreshing change from propping yourself on a bin or the pavement!staff are very friendly and the service is efficient,even though 99 percent of customers are wrecked from 1am onwards.headed here for breakfast a few times.no difference in the level of service or waiting time from day to night which was a nice change!breakfast is great,just what you need after a heavy night.the staff seem to understand their clientele and give them exactly what they need.if you want fine dining and high class then avoid this place.stags and hens head on down!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well where do i start? Over the past 2 weeks me and my friends have visited Buddies on numerous occasions and to be perfectly honest we have been nothing but impressed. The restaurant possesses a stunning view consisting of a makeshift taxi rank and a backdrop of the English Channel, Adding to this, Buddies restaurant is a easily accessible 24 hour food outlet that come rain or shine (or moonlight if you're a daredevil) produces various wonderful cuisines ranging from a deluxe breakfast meal to a bowl of mash (jo's favourite). Next I can't help but praise the unorthodox Anglo-European staff whom are all very friendly and like to give you a few extravagant sexual innuendos to think about before you dine and eat your meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location with average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Located on the seafront this diner offers breakfast and dinner 24 hours a day. We went for breakfast which offered a good selection however customers cannot add or change any items so be warned. The continental breakfast was good as it contained a cereal so those that just fancy a cold breakfast can get that. I had a english breakfast which was very basic and only came with one egg, two rashers of bacon and two sausages and a small portion of beans. All toast and other items were additional extras.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddies Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Buddies Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buddies Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.