We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new hotel close to the station and city shops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Brighton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Brighton to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Brighton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Brighton
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent new hotel close to the station and city shops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Arrived mid morning by car for an overnight stay mid-week. Easy car parking right opposite and very cheap (£16 for 24 hour period in the City centre..!) Hotel spacious, very clean and a welcoming atmosphere. Staff friendly and efficient. The facilities - bar and restaurant areas good in terms of seating, tables and the prices. Food menu looked really good and well thought out although Brighton has so many places to eat that you might be tempted to not eat here. Breakfast however was taken at the hotel and this was on par with the high star rated hotels in the City. Enjoyable and fresh ingredients. Room - a twin, was well appointed, airy and quite adequate for the one night stay.Beds comfortable and had a good nights sleep. Coffee from the bar area was Costa - and very good. Only complaint and a very small one at that, was the level of pop music in the public toilet area. Otherwise - excellent hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the station side look out over the car park and railway tracks. Soundproofing addresses thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    384
    198
    45
    32
See reviews for
155
229
46
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bretagne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

pros:
-new, modern and clean throughout
-full breakfast : excellent
-price
cons:
-sofa bed too small for two kids, unless they are very small
-not close to the sea, the pier and the places of interest (good if you want the station-3 mins walk)
-no free car park (station's car park is across the street, but you have to pay, £11/day)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Really nice modern hotel (one of the few modern ones in Brighton)
The rooms are a good size, they are also clean and well furnished.
The breakfast Buffet is huge and always fresh and hot .
Overall a very pleasant experience ... BUT if you arrive by car beware as they do not have thier own car park. They direct you to a car park right by the station (about a 100metre walk away) the tarrif seems reasonable at £16 per night , what they fail to point out is that the nightly charge expires at around 4.30a.m., you then incur a surcharge (a nasty trick, I think).
If however you park in a private car park in nearby Fleet St it is only £12 for 24 hours , it is a bit of a bomb site but it is only a car park after all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My friend and I stayed here overnight after a day out in Brighton. We arrived by car and the hotel was easy to find by following the signs to the city railway station. There is no parking at the hotel - but that wasn't a problem as the railway station carpark is on the opposite side of the road. The reception staff were very helpful - we arrived at midday before official check in - but they checked our room and it was ready so they kindly checked us in early. The room was a good size with a double and single bed, nicely decorated, and clean. The bathroom was a good size with nice complimentary toiletries - Gilchrist and Soames. Also there was an abundance of mirrors in the room - 2 good size ones in the bathroom, 2 in the bedroom - one of which was a full length mirror - something of a rarity in hotels. The beds are firm but comfortable with good size fluffy duvets, the pillows are nice but slightly firm.
Buffet breakfast was included and there was a good variety - with cereals, full English (plus vegetarian option), and fruit and yogurt.
The hotel is 5-10 min walk from the start of the north lanes in a quieter area of the city. Despite being so near to the station I didn't hear any noise from the trains. My friend and I really enjoyed our stay, and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights while attending a wedding. We struggled to find the hotel. Our (out of date) sat nav didn't recognise either the post code or the address. When eventually we phoned reception, we did get helpful directions. Our room was clean and well equipped, the breakfast good and the public areas of the hotel smart. Unfortunately our stay was spoiled by the hen party with which we shared our floor who returned in dribs and drabs between 3 and 5 am.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Mandy46,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologise for your night’s sleep being disrupted by other guests returning in the early hours. We do everything possible to limit the amount of disruption by party goers but unfortunately on some occasions, they are not always mindful of how noisy they can be on the journey to their respective rooms. I hope your experience will not dissuade you from staying with us again in the future. Should you choose to visit us again, can I ask that you contact me directly and I will ensure a good nights sleep.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

If you want a comfortable, clean, pleasant room a short walk from the station, then this a fine place to stay. The greeting at reception was friendly and efficient, my single bed with its large duvet was very comfortable and I slept well. For all these good things I would normally give a hotel four stars.

But it doesn't really deserve four stars, it deserves 3 1/2. Why? The little details. My bathroom needed refurbishment and the loo groaned for a while after I flushed it. The reading light pointed over the double bed, but not over the single bed I wanted to sleep in. They serve unripe melon in the breakfast buffet and don't peel all the green skin off. The prunes are straight out of the packet (ie chewy) and still have their stones in. Lunchtime conference buffet was not great. Two of my companions' electronic keys stopped working at around 9am. Free wifi downstairs but it didn't work in my fourth floor room. You get the picture.

This is not a fancy hotel, so maybe my expectations were too high. For my business meetings the location was perfect. It's not close to the sea but it's only 15 minutes to walk to the pier. None of this should put people off and I would happily stay there again, but now I know what to expect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Ant42

Thank you for taking the time to write review.

I was happy to read that you got a good night sleep. We have recently upgraded our bedding and we have had numerous positive comments in this regards. I was not made aware of any maintenance issues within any of our rooms similar to what you have mentioned but I will indeed investigate further. Unfortunately we do not yet have wifi available on the bedroom floors hence not being able to receive a signal. I hope to remedy this in the near future.

Should you wish to visit Brighton again on business or indeed pleasure, please feel free to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to manage your booking personally.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I called to reserve - they did not answer for 15 minutes. Eventually I hung up, rang a friend who was able to reserve on the internet (I had no direct access to the internet). Not a good start. Other major complaint is that a laundry lorry arrived at around 6.30 am and was very noisy loading and unloading outside my window - woke me up much earlier than I would have liked. Also, reception was understaffed.

Overall the room was good, and the building nice, but the service provided left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Probably better to get a higher floor - I was on floor 1 on the side, and hence the laundry truck wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienDoyle, General Manager at Jurys Inn Brighton, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Bruce T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read that we did not answer your call on time and that you were disturbed from your sleep by a delivery. As you can see from previous reviews, this is by no means a measure of our usual standard of service. Should you choose to visit Brighton again, can I ask that you contact me directly and I will ensure you are well looked after.

Kind regards

Damien Doyle
General Manager
damien_doyle@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Brighton

Address: 101 Stroudley Road, Brighton BN1 4DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Brighton is one of the most conveniently-located hotels in Brighton - just beside the central railway station, and is an easy ten minutes on foot from the Theatre Royal and Brighton Dome. It's close to the seaside and perfect for visitors looking for Brighton hotels near the city centre. Jurys Inn Brighton features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after a long day of business, shopping or seaside fun. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. For guests visiting on business, the hotel offers 9 fully equipped business meeting rooms. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the public car park adjacent to the hotel at Southern Railway Parking. The hotel features 243 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Brighton at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Brighton Hotel Brighton
Jurys Hotel Brighton
Brighton Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.