We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Lunch Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Very Italian Pizza

Very Italian Pizza
19 Old Steine, Brighton, BN1 1EL, Brighton BN1 1EL, England
1273 677377
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 822 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Lunch Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Working locally in the area I needed a quick lunch - walking into VIP is one of the choice I've made in a long time. Great service, beautiful produce and a fantastic vibrant atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    31
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Delicious, bustling, fun, and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I've been twice in the past fortnight with friends to VIP. On both occasions the restaurant was bustling and somewhat chaotic, but then that added to the whole experience.

The food is great; fresh, tasty, and seemingly very authentic. They have a great selection of pizzas on offer wide a wide variety of toppings - all the traditional ones you'd expect to see plus some more adventurous.
Their sharing platters are great - and ENORMOUS! All the meats, cheeses and roasted vegetables were delicious and fresh; worlds apart from what you'd pick up at a supermarket deli counter, even the likes of Waitrose.

Their panuozzo was interesting... - a large Italian toasted sandwich concoction - when we had it we found it a little 'bready' with not enough filling - but given the quality of everything else this was perhaps bad luck.

They do take away as well, in addition to selling their wares deli style. I know where I'll be going in future for my parma ham, mozzarella etc.

If you're looking for a quiet, romantic, high-end meal then this isn't the place for you at all. But if you want the authentic buzz of an Italian cafe/restaurant (with an enormous number of Italian customers both times we were there), and don't mind being squeezed in where they can fit you, and served when they can (better to let them know you want something than sit waiting to be attended on) then this is a great place to go. And it's remarkably good value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had a lovely night here with family and can honestly say it was one of the best pizzas I have had in a long time! Great atmosphere, service and food! What more could you ask for? The prices were most competitive and I would not hesitate in going back and recommending to others. Well worth the visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matera, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Proper Pizza napoletana, now I finally found THE place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you love thiks like BBQ tandoori chicken pesto pizza, then this is not the place for you.
Because VIP bakes the best pizza in Brighton, and probably the best pizza in East Sussex, the most authentic dough you can find around is here.

I am italian, southener and an afecionado pizza consumer, very picky and very spoiled and most important very careful when looking for a nice italian meal so look no further, that's the place you've been looking for.
Service is friendly and fast even when the place is crowded, and you can enjoy a true italian noisy atmosfere just like the best pizzerias in Napoli.
Don't miss the bufala mozzarella pizza or pizza with "friarielli" (italian sausages and greens), and of course a shot of limoncello before leaving.

Buon appetito!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Excellent food. Excellent service. Excellent value. It's like being in Italy. The pizzas are fabulous cooked in a traditional brick oven. The food is fresh and the menu has lots of choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Very Italian Pizza also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Very Italian Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Very Italian Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.